Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linguini with Shrimp and Tomato Hazelnut Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linguini with Shrimp and Tomato Hazelnut Pesto

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2002

      I can honestly say this is one of the best recipes I've had in a long time. If I could give it more than five stars I would! For one thing, it was easy and quick to make but tasted and looked like you'd spent a long time on it. I would definitely serve this to company. Also, I've made lots of pesto sauces but the sundried tomatoes and hazelnuts gave it a special touch. Finally, it reheated well and was even better the next day for lunch, after the flavours had some time to sink in. A lovely dish in every way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      The innovative tomato-hazelnut pesto is the star(5 of them) of this dish! A complexity of ingredients, that both blend and offset each other, resulting in a layering of flavors. I also sauteed the shrimp after cooking the mushrooms, it makes the dish even easier and the flavor works better with the pesto. Chicken would work easilly as well if you don't like/can't eat shrimp. My only thought is that the ingredients should be listed in the order they are used. Thank you for this wonderful dish and you have my vote as the #1 recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      Followed this recipe exactly, it was delicious!! A wonderful combination of flavours, the sundried tomatoes intensified the taste of the pesto and adding the hazelnuts to the pesto instead of sprinkling on top was a refreshing change from the expected. The recipe was impressive but easily put together, and gave a look of quality. Thanks for sharing and good luck in the contest!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      This recipe was OK. Overall, the pasta was too dry (pesto needed more oil), and not what I expected (pesto tasted too much like tomato-garlic-parsley, and lost the basil and hazelnuts). I would go with more mushrooms, and less pasta, too. It had a good garlicy/tomatoey taste around the shrimp, that was its best point. Still, good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      Magnificent. The tomato hazelnut pesto is the best and a very creative use of ingredients. This was actually very easy to prepare and the results were of restaurant quality. Perfect blend of seasonings. The pesto flavor combined well with the shrimp and pasta. Kudos to the creator. Well done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      I'm giving a star rating to this recipe as an entry in the Ready Set Cook 2 Contest. I thought this was an excellent, creative and tasty presentation highlighting 5 required ingredients. The only change I made was to pan sear the shrimp (after sauteing the mushrooms) instead of boiling them, but as this is a personal preference I wouldn't deduct on points over it. The pesto on its own is worth making as a vegetarian pasta dish - I'll definitely make it again for my veggie friends. Good job with this and good luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      This recipe remind me of the dish I was served at a side walk cafe on Champs-Elysees Avenue in Paris. J'aime votre recette. I love the hazelnut and sundried tomatoes in the pesto. I went out and bought a food processor to prepare this dish and the outcome sure justified the effort. Thanks for sharing your recipe and good luck in the contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      I loved this recipe, although we had to add some extra liquid to make it not so dry. We didn't have hazelnuts, so I used pine nuts and it was delicious. We had LOTS of pesto left over - great for having on toasted baguettes, and I even mixed a little into an omelette! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      Fabulous tasting linguini!! A perfect blending of flavors. Wouldn't change a thing. This is restaurant quality!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      This has been in my cookbook for ages and I have been meaning to give it a try and now, I can finally say I have. As expected, it is an excellent recipe. Very unique combination of ingredients that work well together. I loved the pesto with sun-dried tomatoes and hazelnuts. My husband suggested making it to keep in the frig so we can spread it on crostini, crackers, etc... The shrimp, noodles, pesto are the total package. Thanks cg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      Wow! My wife and I really enjoyed this dish...Some friends came over the next day - hungry - and we offered them our leftovers ...they asked what restaurant this was from! (I told 'em the 'zaar...) Some things I did of note, that might be helpful to everyone out there: I used a pound of frozen cocktail shrimp, thawed them under running cold water, and added them to the boiling linguini about 10 seconds before I drained it - just enough to get it warm. "Lightly Toasted Hazelnuts" can be attained by purchasing raw hazelnuts (or Filberts) and putting them in the toaster oven for ONE MEDIUM-DARK TOASTING CYCLE! (Yes, I learned the hard way... Fortunately, I bought extra.) Hope that helps everyone! As one builds a repertoire of pesto sauces for different types of meat and seafood, this one is fanTAStic with shrimp. It simply WORKS. Thanks SO much for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      A good solid pasta dish. I made it vegetarian, and left out the shrimp, using 12 oz. of mushrooms (I could have done more). The amount of oil and of pesto were just right (it looked like a lot, but it really was perfect). The only suggestion I have is to order the ingredients as they are used in the directions, and group the pesto ingredients under the header "pesto" for ease of following the recipe. Thanks for this creative dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      Really liked it! Used Rotini (which I think is much more fun to eat) instead of linguini, and for the mushroom, chopped portabello. Also since I ran out of olive oil (yikes!) used grapeseed oil, which was just fine. Topped it with lots of chopped fresh italian parsley & basil. Perf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linguini with Shrimp and Tomato Hazelnut Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 788.8
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    23%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 226.3 mg
    75%
    Sodium 956.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.6 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 47.1 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites