13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can honestly say this is one of the best recipes I've had in a long time. If I could give it more than five stars I would! For one thing, it was easy and quick to make but tasted and looked like you'd spent a long time on it. I would definitely serve this to company. Also, I've made lots of pesto sauces but the sundried tomatoes and hazelnuts gave it a special touch. Finally, it reheated well and was even better the next day for lunch, after the flavours had some time to sink in. A lovely dish in every way.

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville August 15, 2002

The innovative tomato-hazelnut pesto is the star(5 of them) of this dish! A complexity of ingredients, that both blend and offset each other, resulting in a layering of flavors. I also sauteed the shrimp after cooking the mushrooms, it makes the dish even easier and the flavor works better with the pesto. Chicken would work easilly as well if you don't like/can't eat shrimp. My only thought is that the ingredients should be listed in the order they are used. Thank you for this wonderful dish and you have my vote as the #1 recipe!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac August 25, 2002

Followed this recipe exactly, it was delicious!! A wonderful combination of flavours, the sundried tomatoes intensified the taste of the pesto and adding the hazelnuts to the pesto instead of sprinkling on top was a refreshing change from the expected. The recipe was impressive but easily put together, and gave a look of quality. Thanks for sharing and good luck in the contest!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf August 21, 2002

This recipe was OK. Overall, the pasta was too dry (pesto needed more oil), and not what I expected (pesto tasted too much like tomato-garlic-parsley, and lost the basil and hazelnuts). I would go with more mushrooms, and less pasta, too. It had a good garlicy/tomatoey taste around the shrimp, that was its best point. Still, good luck in the contest!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau August 25, 2002

Magnificent. The tomato hazelnut pesto is the best and a very creative use of ingredients. This was actually very easy to prepare and the results were of restaurant quality. Perfect blend of seasonings. The pesto flavor combined well with the shrimp and pasta. Kudos to the creator. Well done.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes August 23, 2002

I'm giving a star rating to this recipe as an entry in the Ready Set Cook 2 Contest. I thought this was an excellent, creative and tasty presentation highlighting 5 required ingredients. The only change I made was to pan sear the shrimp (after sauteing the mushrooms) instead of boiling them, but as this is a personal preference I wouldn't deduct on points over it. The pesto on its own is worth making as a vegetarian pasta dish - I'll definitely make it again for my veggie friends. Good job with this and good luck.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
labouchet August 20, 2002

This recipe remind me of the dish I was served at a side walk cafe on Champs-Elysees Avenue in Paris. J'aime votre recette. I love the hazelnut and sundried tomatoes in the pesto. I went out and bought a food processor to prepare this dish and the outcome sure justified the effort. Thanks for sharing your recipe and good luck in the contest.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan August 25, 2002

I loved this recipe, although we had to add some extra liquid to make it not so dry. We didn't have hazelnuts, so I used pine nuts and it was delicious. We had LOTS of pesto left over - great for having on toasted baguettes, and I even mixed a little into an omelette! Delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen O'Connell January 18, 2003

Fabulous tasting linguini!! A perfect blending of flavors. Wouldn't change a thing. This is restaurant quality!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdamB November 01, 2002

This has been in my cookbook for ages and I have been meaning to give it a try and now, I can finally say I have. As expected, it is an excellent recipe. Very unique combination of ingredients that work well together. I loved the pesto with sun-dried tomatoes and hazelnuts. My husband suggested making it to keep in the frig so we can spread it on crostini, crackers, etc... The shrimp, noodles, pesto are the total package. Thanks cg.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 09, 2004
Linguini with Shrimp and Tomato Hazelnut Pesto