17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my "Get ready Honey, I'm gonna knock your socks off" romantic dinner. It definintely delivered. The red clam sauce was very well seasoned. We both loved the flavor of the oregano and basil. I served this with homemade bread and salad. Wow, we were both impressed. Thanks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower September 15, 2002

Elaine Cape Cod LOVED this recipe. I took some of the advice in the comments and added a bit of tomato paste to thicken the sauce, some good red wine and a 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes - I topped the sauce off with a sprinkle of grated parm cheese when I served this dish. Absolutely delicious!! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine Cape Cod September 03, 2006

This was tasty, I only had crushed tomatoes and only one small can of clams but it turned out fantastic anyway. See photo 1.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophia & Maya's Mom April 21, 2014

Linguine with clams is my husband's favorite dish. This version is my new staple. I actually love how "saucy" the tomato sauce is. I did cut the butter in half as some other chefs suggested, and I thought it still had a rich, buttery flavor. I also omitted the salt, because the clams are pretty salty on their own. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diesel01 January 06, 2010

Based on other reviews I cut the butter in half and added 2 tbs of bordeaux. I made the full amount of sauce and half the pasta for two of us and we sopped up all of the juices with a loaf of semolina bread. Awesome and I can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephaniecarleo October 06, 2009

I'm so glad I saved this recipe in my cookbook. I've been craving it for months since I last made it. I can't wait to cook it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacieny June 10, 2009

Took the advise of other cooks & thickened the sauce with some tomato paste. Otherwise I feel it would have been too thin. This wasn't bad for my first red clam sauce recipe so I really have nothing to compare it with. I personally prefer the white clam sauce linguine. My BH however thought it was outstanding and wants me to do again sometime. I served this with sweet hawaiian bread, a nice compliment to the meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat April 13, 2008

This was so so good. I like my linguini with white sauce but made this to please my husband (I don't usually do red sauces with seafood). I was just standing there at the stove sampling and sampling. What a delicate flavor. This is NOT Ragu with clams in it. It is light and has just layers of flavor. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaymee July 02, 2007
Linguine with Red Clam Sauce