10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the yummiest white clam sauce I have ever had, too!! However, if you're a saucy person, there might not be enough for your tastes, you might even consider doubling the recipe. For example, I followed the recipe exactly, and it gave barely enough sauce for two people; the recipe says it's for four. This is easily fixed though, it tastes delicious, and that's what counts!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horseplay August 25, 2003

Loved it! Glad this recipe doesn't skimp on clams!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth November 10, 2012

I have never really tried my hand at cooking before and not only is this recipe completely simple to follow, it doesn't take long and it is incredibly delicious! I followed it exactly and loved every bit of it!
Thank you so much, Marie! You are the reason I joined food.com!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
otterpop May 06, 2011

This was awesome. I followed the recipe almost to a T but made some minor adjustments based on reviewers' advice to increase the amount of sauce and to thicken it slightly. Adjustments: 1. Added finely minced onion (about 1/2 small onion) to butter/oil until softened. (I think next time I will sautee the onions w/ a small portion of butter for a min, then add the rest of the oil/butter, etc). 2. After onions were soft and I gave the parsley/garlic a min or two to cook in, I stirred in a mix of 2 tbsp of flour whisked with a little of the cream (used half/half not heavy) until a smooth mixture. 3. To increase amount of sauce, I doubled all ingredients EXCEPT the amount of clams (there were plenty - perfect amount), cream: about 14 oz of half/half (instead of 16), about 4ish cloves garlic (I think 6 would have been overpowering). This will be a new family fav! I might try it with a little less butter and low fat dairy next time to lower the calories/fat and see if it's still as delicious as this was!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shansterz04 January 31, 2010

Loved this recipe! We made it for dinner this evening but modified it a bit to reduce the fat and calories... Specifically, we nixed the 2Tbs of butter and replaced the heavy cream with half&half. It was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheevers July 13, 2009

Loved This! I was worried that 4 cans of clams was going to be too much, so I used 2 cans plus one 8oz bottle of clam juice, after it was made I realized the 4 cans would have been fine. I used a chardonnay for the wine and cooked per directions. I wanted the sauce a tiny bit thicker, so I added 1 t cornstarch to 1 t cold water and mixed it in. I will make this one often, thanks Marie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawnab January 22, 2009

The "BEST" I have ever had, and I have had my share! This was truly authentic and every bite had me going back for another! My guests loved it too and we give it 5 plus stars for flavor, appearance and ease of preparation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleOnTheLake December 29, 2008

I also sauted 3/4 cup of mushrooms along with the garlic and parsley, turned out wonderful. My family has already asked me to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marenski January 03, 2008

A very simple and delicious sauce - much better than most restaurant sauces I've had. I used two 6oz cans minced clams and one 10oz can whole baby clams instead. Plenty of clams in every bite! Serve with plenty of fresh grated parmesan cheese on top. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim in Indy September 08, 2004
Linguine With Creamy White Clam Sauce