Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linda's Tuna and Olive Sandwich (Sandwiches) or Finger Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda's Tuna and Olive Sandwich (Sandwiches) or Finger Rolls

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2011

      This is an excellent tuna recipe.
      I have to say that, though, I often tinker with recipes, this recipe should be made AS WRITTEN if humanly possible.
      DON'T substitute oil-packed tuna; the flavor and texture will both be affected.
      DON'T substitute chunk light tuna for the albacore. Albacore is much drier than chunk light tuna, and the proportion of ingredients will be all wrong if you use chunk light.
      DON'T use more onion. You only need a little onion to add volumes of flavor; too much and you will overwhelm the tuna.
      DON'T substitute black olives for green. The briny taste of the green olives is the heart of the recipe; black olives have a much different texture and are not as salty, so there must be a drastic adjustment of ingredients if they are substituted.
      BE CAUTIOUS if attempting to substitute Miracle Whip for real mayonnaise. Miracle Whip is much thinner and has a sweeter flavor than real mayonnaise, which can throw the entire recipe off.
      DO spread mayonnaise on the bread if you are making a sandwich. This will prevent the bread from getting soggy.
      Made as written, this is a delicious recipe for a tuna sandwich. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I thought this recipe sounded great. I made a bunch of these for my Football party. (I thought the Bears would have done better) My friends did not care for them. The only changes I made to the recipe was to use 2 cans of regular oil packed tuna, Miracle Whip instead of real mayo, 14 black olives (because I like them better), and a whole onion (because I like onions).
      My buddies said they were alright. The bread was soggy due to the amount of mayo on them. I applied mayo to the bread like you did. I appreciate your salesmanship. They were very easy to make and a great throw together appetizer. Thank God for my ribs. I think if I make this again, I%u2019ll use fresh tuna from our higher end market downtown and fewer olives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      This is so yummy with the olives in this. I loved the salty, briney bite it gives the sandwiches. I made this for our soup and sandwich night. I will use this recipe again as the kids devoured them and asked for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      I made this last night for dinner. It was yummy! I used red onion instead of white, and did not have to add anything to the recipe, not even salt, which is unusual for me. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Never would have thought that all these years, olives were what have been missing to make our tuna fantastic. Made for Best of 2009 Cookbook Tag Game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I made this when a friend came over for lunch. She and I both loved it. So did my husband. We all like olives so no surprise there really. I had some leftover sweet onion from another recipe that I used. Delicious and so easy, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I could not believe how simple and easy this tuna salad is, and how delicious it is. The olives took the place of pickles for saltiness, and the overall result is absolutely divine! I am eating this as I review and I feel I have now found my number one tuna salad recipe...except when I am watching my sodium! I used only a few slices of onion, diced....but the onions I get seem to be really big. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I did eat this on Sandwich Thins, a new product I have discovered that is like a cross between a pita and bread. Really yummy sandwich! Thanks so much for posting this delicious and easy recipe! Made for Zaar Stars Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I( have always been a fan of tuna sandwiches, and boy I have stumbled upon the holy grail of tuna ingredients. The idea of green olives in tuna is almost counter intuitive, but something about it intrigued me so I gave it a shot. Man oh man, I couldn't believe how good the sandwich was. look no further than the green olives/onions combo if you want the best tasting tuna. If you don't like onions, use a smaller amount and dice them ultra fine and you won't even know they are there. Otherwise you would be missing out on the synergistic combination of flavor these two things bring to the party IMO. Five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Oh.my.*goodness*. This recipe just made this tuna-hater a die-hard fan!!! I'm about to go back downstairs and snag another sandwich once the kids go to bed! I love green olives and I had some tuna so I thought it was worth the try! I only added about 1/4 of a white onion (super finely chopped) and for a little extra kick I threw in a couple dashes of worchestershire. I used a soft white bread with mayo on one slice and a smidge of mustard on the other. I added the tuna salad and a layer of Wavy Lays and...VIOLA. AWESOME! Now I can finally get rid of the random cans of tuna I keep on hand with pleasure! (I would rate this recipe more stars if I could!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This is a terrific tuna sandwich. I used less (low fat) mayo than ask for, baby spinach leaves for the lettuce and red onion. I usually add capers to my tuna sandwich's but the olives were a nice switch that still gave that bit of salt and flavor. A pita half was my bread of choice today. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Very good! I always add in olives to my egg salad I never would have thought to add to tuna, but it is delicious! my DH enjoyed this, thanks Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I loved these as sandwiches so much I wanted to make some up as finger rolls for my sister's baby shower. They were a huge hit and by the end of the shower I went home with an empty platter. Linda, thanks so much for your sandwich ideas. Everything was so delicious and I got compliments galore! Kim Dated 6/14/2008 - I think I could eat these sammies 7 days a week they are SO GOOD! Love the addition of the olives, as they add so much flavor mixed in with all the other stuff. My friend couldn't believe how good they were when I made them for lunch the other day. If you like tuna and olives you will LOVE these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Being a big fan of tuna sandwiches, I was more than excited to try out this recipe...its real quick and even more yummy!!!!the chopped onions are quite essential as they make such a huge difference in taste...I used Lemonaise from Trader Joe's(with basil and tarragon) instead of regular mayonnaise.I also threw in a generous dash of oregano and freshly ground black pepper. I used it as a spread for a tray of mini croissants and DH loooved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      Tasty! The green olives were a nice change from the usual pickle relish tuna salad I make. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Delish & simple recipe! I agree don't change anything! When you change the tuna, substitute the Mayo for nasty miracle whip & change the amount of onion & olives it isn't going go taste right because you made a completly different recipe. Don't blame Linda when you alter every single ingredient! Stick to the recipe & youre set! BTW I tried a few of her sandwich recipes & they are all great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      This is delicious! Love the addition of green olives to give a little extra kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Wow this is a great twist to your old tuna sandwich! I used 2 green onions minced for the optional chopped onion, I also aded a generous sprinkling of dillweed. Served it open face on toasted and buttered cracked wheat toast. A polish dill pickle and BBQ kettle chips on the side. Now, I am not a sandwich person for lunches, and I ADORED this!!! Very, very good and very satisifying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      perfect for lunch anyday!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Hits the spot each and every time I make these, which is at least once a week at my house! Kids love them too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      My friend was over for lunch and I made these for us. We had them on a toasted bagel, with Kettle chips and a big dill pickle. What a delicious lunch we had! If you love olives like I do, you will love these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda's Tuna and Olive Sandwich (Sandwiches) or Finger Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (439 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 451.4
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    42%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 38.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1066.7 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 30.5 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes