Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linda's Thai Sweet Chili Sauce for Dipping (Egg Rolls, Sushi) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda's Thai Sweet Chili Sauce for Dipping (Egg Rolls, Sushi)

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2010

      I used 2T of cornstarch instead of the 3T the recipe called for and it was too much. I think starting with 1T and working your way up is the way to go. I added more water and sugar and it turned out ok. I used it with egg rolls and it was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      I wish I'd taken notice of what Houseblend said - I thought it seemed like a lot of cornstarch, should have trusted my instinct! It was so thick that it would have been inedible. It was also far too vinegary. I added water and more sugar, and then cooked the taste of the cornstarch out until the sauce was clear - which took about 20 minutes. I've eventually ended up with an ok sauce, but i think i may work out my own recipe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Dh and I love all things Thai and I was looking forward to making one of our favorite condiments at home, but unfortunately this sauce was unedible. Nothing like the little dish that we get with our appy's. First of all, the cornstarch mixture is way too plentiful for the small amount of liquid this makes, so you end up with a chalky tasting sauce. Second, this sauce tasted like a tart vinegar with hot pepper more than a nice balance of sweet, tangy and hot. I had to throw out the sauce as I just couldn't bring myself to serve it with dinner. Will not try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      This recipe has some "kick" to it. I made this to go with our eggrolls last night and we loved it. Its a nice change from the usual sweet and sour. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      Sorry, but this was not, in our estimation , a good dipping sauce for sushi. Maybe for wing ??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      I made this sauce last night to go with recipe 258664 "Tuna/Swordfish Steaks With Thai Dressing. That recipe called for 1/2 Cup of sweet chili sauce, and I read about this recipe for sweet chili sauce, so I gave it a try. THIS WAS OUTSTANDING! And easy to make! Loved this recipe, thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      I had never had this kind of sauce on sushi before, but it looked like it would be delicious, so I made us up a batch. We loved it! I only used 1 tablespoon of the sambal to suit our tastebuds, but other than that made it the same. I can only imagine how good this would be with Thai or Chinese appetizers. Need I say yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Really liked this sauce. I only made half a recipe but it is spicy and good. Served with egg rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This sauce was so delicious on our sushi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Thanks for all these great sushi making recipes Linda. This sweet hot sauce was perfect for our rolls to dip them in. Great taste that we loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I made this as a dipping sauce for pot stickers and it was delicious! I will make this next time I make wantons and egg rolls. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This sauce was a great dipping sauce for some egg rolls I whipped up. It was easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand, as I make lots of spicy dishes at my house. I don't know what happened with the previous poster, but mine was a great combination of sweet and spicy. I just adjusted the sambal to 1 T., as we don't like it real hot. It wasn't too thick at all and looked just like the picture posted. Worked great for me! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Excellent sauce. I used it for chicken wings and it was awesome! I cut back a little on the sambal oblek and it was a perfect blend of flavors that we enjoyed very much. I can't wait to try it on sushi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This came out too spicy and too tangy for me. I followed directions exactly too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      We now call this Sushi Wonder Sauce, because it was outstanding with our sushi! We only used 1 tablespoons of the sambal, and it was good for us. This will be a staple in our house to use with many Chinese, Japanese or Thai appetizers I prepare, or to have over rice. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I made Jumbo Shrimp Rolls With a Sweet Soy Sauce and used this delicious sauce to dip them in. The sauce was absolutely perfect for the shrimp and really tasted great together! I can see using this sauce for all kinds of dishes to enhance the flavor, especially seafood dishes, chicken and pork. Amazing all around Thai sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Whipped up some of this sauce to go with Mini Chicken Cigars With Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce. I wanted a couple of different sauces to have with the chicken rolls. Excellent flavors of both sweet and spicy with this sauce! A nice contrast to the other sauce I used. I will use this often in my Thai, Chinese and Japanese recipes, as it's such a nice balance of flavors. A new favorite right here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Made to use as a dipping sauce for Linda's Crab Baked Rangoon and we loved it! This sauce has just the right amount of sweet and hot. Such good flavor I think I'm addicted already! I can see using this for lots of things, including a lot of my Chinese and Thai dishes. Excellent! Thank you for this recipe too Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This was made to use for Asian Chicken, Noodle, and Vegetable Salad. The sauce was completed and quick chilled in an ice bath. It was perfect. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I made this along with Mexican Rice and poured it over the Mexican chicken dish I prepared. It is kind of hot and sweet at the same time, which added loads of flavor to the chicken. I will use this sauce often as the flavor is typical to other Thai sauces and so easy to make. I am going to try it next with some Thai Shrimp In A Blanket and on some Crab Rangoon. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda's Thai Sweet Chili Sauce for Dipping (Egg Rolls, Sushi)

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    64%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2328.0 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 33.2 g
    133%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sambal oelek

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes