20 Reviews

Made these for a going away party, and i couldn't put them in the oven fast enough! I skipped the salsa and i just used a block of colby jack, which i shredded my self. I also made the meat the night before and refrigerated it to save some prep time AND so that the bottoms of the taco shells wouldn't get soggy from the grease BEFORE i even baked them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weird Al Loser September 21, 2009

Thank you so much for this recipe! This is such a brilliant appetizer! Yummy, mini tacos, without the mess! I altered the recipe just slightly as I only use 1 lb. of ground beef. To see additional photos and tips, you can check out my review of this recipe on my cooking blog: http://redlab27.alissahebert.com/2012/02/taco-scoops.html

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Lab No.27 February 11, 2012

I have been making these for as long as I can remember. I also put the meat on, then refried beans, one slice of olive, placing a small peice of jalapeno inside the olive, on top of that I place a small peice of tomato. After all that I top them of with a drizzle of velveta sauce, then finishing them with some grated chedder cheese. Pop these bad boys in the oven at 400 degrees for 5 minuets. I always make about 100 of these. It takes awile but so worth it. As for them getting soggy, they do. I keep the ones I don't heat in the oven in the fridge, and pop them in the oven, they crisp up nicely. This version has all the textures and flavors of mini hard tacos!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luke Warm October 18, 2011

These were easy and quick, but I didn't think they deserved the 5 star rating. Were a bit bland and I followed recipe exactly. I took them to a gathering and that was consensus. Maybe needed more seasoning?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cm25in25 September 27, 2009

I made these to have when my DH had friends over to watch the baseball game. My DH said they were excellent, so I saved them to make again when we feel like munching out again! These are even good for a Friday night dinner when you want something different and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooksSoGood August 02, 2009

A friend made these one night and we ate them until we could not eat anymore. They were delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martini*Girl April 23, 2009

I love this. I used sharp cheddar cheese though for a stronger flavor though. Also, I forgot to save some taco seasoning so I just put regular sour cream on top. Of course, while it was cooking I was eating some chip and dip style. I mix matched Tostito and Frito Scoops. This is a fun recipe to play with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Laurel March 18, 2009

We had these for a snack tonight so I could see what they taste like. I halved the recipe. We loved these little Mexi Apetizers and I can't wait to make them for the Super Bowl! I used ChiChi's salsa because it has nice big chunks in it and the flavor is really good. I can't wait to serve these up for the game!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tony Rules The Kitchen... Sally Watches! January 29, 2009

Yummy! Easy to put together. I added a nacho jalapeno slice to the top. I used ground turkey. My husband said it was a keeper. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest December 31, 2008

Good eats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImKerri December 31, 2008
Linda's Taco Scoop Appetizers