9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had a rib roast in the freezer that needed to be cooked. Of course I came here looking for reviews. I didn't want anything complicated and I wanted it to cook while I was at church. This recipe was fantastic! I seasoned the outside of the roast and then put the onions on. I set the oven for 1 hour and 30 minutes because I wouldn't be home when it shut off. I could have cooked it just a little longer...maybe another 15 or so minutes for a 5.25 lb roast. It was medium rare at the outside but rare inside.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jneen March 06, 2011

Very good roast - our's took a bit longer than the time specified, but then the roast was over 7 pounds, so that was expected. Served this with potatoes and carrots for a wonderful dinner! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ December 26, 2012

I made this prime rib for my DH for our anniversary and it was just perfect! We like ours medium rare and we got just what we asked for! Tender and flavors throughout the meat, it was everything I had hoped it would be and more. Flavors couldn't have been any better! This will be my go to recipe for prime rib from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyBoopers May 25, 2010

I have had this recipe ready to try for some time and decided on a rib roast for Easter. This is one heck of a tasty piece of meat. My company devoured the whole roast by the end of the meal. Love the simplicity, yet great flavor of this roast. Our roast came out exactly like we like it in 2 hrs. (med-rare). I will use this recipe many times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids April 14, 2009

This year my family didn't want ham for Easter dinner and since the standing rib roast were on sale, that is what I decided to make. I make mine this same as yours except I didn't add the onion. The onion add alot of additional flavor to the meat and then the gravy. My family prefers a rib roast that is med to med-well, so I cooked mine longer. Served this with mashed potatoes, corn and homemade rolls for a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing Linda and now be always adding the onion to my beef roasts. Made for Gimme 5 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 April 13, 2009

We had company over the weekend and I wanted to make something special, because the weather was so lousy. I got a 6 rib roast and decided to try this recipe. I sure am glad I did, as the roast came out perfect. Tender and juicy, with great flavor. Nothing overpowered the flavor of the roast. We all devoured it! This is the way I will be making my rib roasts from now on. Simple and delicious! Diane

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieFanatic March 13, 2008

I made this AMAZING roast as part of our Christmas dinner. The roast came out perfect (med-rare) and was really easy to prepare and get in the oven which is definately a plus while preparing a huge dinner! I have saved this to make soon. Thanks Linda! Debbie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooksSoGood January 02, 2008

Outstanding recipe! I will be making this again and again. This is the only recipe I am using from now on. So good and soooooooo easy, which is especially good around the holidays when time is of the essence!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlllin9 December 31, 2007

I made this roast for company last evening, and it was so wonderful! The flavors are awesome, not to mention easy and quick to get ready for the oven. I cooked mine exactly 2 hrs. and it came out perfectly medium rare, just like we like it. Thanks for sharing Linda! Wiggie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiggiesStickeyRibs December 23, 2007
Linda's Standing Rib Roast