Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linda's Spicy Mayonnaise Sauce for Sushi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda's Spicy Mayonnaise Sauce for Sushi

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2012

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      I love your recipes for making sushi, and the kinds to make. This sauce was just what I was looking for when I made my first batch. Delicious, and just like in the restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This is wonderful. I made this to go with your manhattan rolls and we loved them. I'm thinking this would go great on a sub sandwich too. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This sauce was the perfect addition to our tempura sushi.. We made both shrimp and crab. Oh what a treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      We loved this stuff. I made sushi for the first time the other day. I began my adventure with a simple and cheaper california roll. I put this on some and not on others. I was definitly better with this sauce. Also, I love spicy food but the sambal really has a kick. I only used 1T and had to add more mayo to tone it down. I didn't mind as the japanese mayo says it will only last about a month. Gotta find more uses for it or just have more sushi. Either way I win ~ Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      We loved this sauce on our sushi. Delicious choice here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Wow this is just like the restaurants! We loved it on our Crunchy rolls that we made following your guide to making sushi. We plan to make this sauce whenever we have sushi from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This was delicious. I used regular Helmann's mayonnaise. I used about the middle amount of sambal oelek and it was pretty spicy. It brought tears to my eyes as I was stirring it up! We then mixed some of it with imitation "crab" to make spicy Krab rolls using your How to Make and Roll Sushi. I put the remainder of the sauce in a ziplock baggy and snipped the corner off, to squirt the sauce out and garnish the rolls. It tasted very much like the spicy Krab we get when we go out for sushi. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Wish I could put "10" stars. Excellent spicy sauce for any type of food. Just has enough bit to be spicy but not enough to over power the food. Wonderful addition to my cookbook. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      So delicious! I used this recipe to make my DH's Spicy Tuna Rolls and he went crazy for it!! The sauce added just the right amount of pizzaz into the roll and DH said they were heavenly! I used 1 T. of the sambal as I didn't want to make it too spicy the first time around. DH said it was great as is, though I may add more next time and see how they are with it a little spicier and try one myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      My friend and I decided to try our hand at making sushi and we decided to try this sauce to put inside our rolls. It was EXCELLENT to say it lightly! Just enough heat from the Sambal and just enough mayonnaise to counteract the hot. Of course you can use regular mayonnaise instead of the Japanese, but we decided to use the Japanese to get the full feel of a total Japanese experience just like the restaurants! We used Linda's tutorial, Types of Sushi Rolls. to guide us with the types of sushi we wanted to make, then used Linda's tutorial, How to Make and Roll Sushi, to show us how to do it. Great sauce that we both think we will find many uses for including sandwiches! We enjoyed it TOTALLY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I have used this sauce several times now and it is really yummy in all my sushi rolls, especially when using fish. I absolutely love it in the tempura recipes. Great addition to any of your sushi rolls! It's got a little kick with 2 T. of sambal oelek, so if you like it milder just use 1 T. Do it according to your taste, adding as you go, so you get it the way you like it. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing it with us Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Great sauce and so easy to make. It took about 2 seconds to put together. I am so pleased that I can now make my own sushi at home as it is so expensive to go out to eat all the time when you feel like having it. Linda's tutorial for "How To Make Sushi" was an excellent guide to making my own sushi, and along with her guide "Types Of Sushi" and the recipe for Sushi Rice I found on here, I am very excited!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda's Spicy Mayonnaise Sauce for Sushi

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 916.5
     
    Calories from Fat 706
    77%
    Total Fat 78.4 g
    120%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 61.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1670.8 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sambal oelek

    smelt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes