Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linda's Spaghetti Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda's Spaghetti Pie

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2012

      We thought this was good. I had cut the recipe in half, because I only wanted one pie, but ended up with enough spaghetti & meat filling to fill 2 pies. I had extra ricotta, so I just made a 2nd pie and froze it. I usually use a different recipe, but wanted to try a different one. Hubby definitely liked this one better. I prefer the other one, only because that recipe mixes the ricotta in with the spaghetti mixture. Hubby definitely prefers the flavor of the layering effect. All in all, we all really enjoyed it, even my 2 year old who does not like much of anything at dinnertime. If he eats it, it means the recipe is truly a great one. Thanks for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      This got an enthusiastic thumbs up from all 6 diners, including my Italian-American mom. Even my DH, who sometimes complains that we eat too much Italian-style food, loved this. What's not to like? Simple, easy, fast, cheap broad appeal and yummy. I did sub cottage cheese for the ricotta because that's all I had. I used a good quality jar sauce, fresh basil and parsley, and fresh mozzarella. I had some leftover loose mild italian sausage so I mixed that with 1/2 lb of ground beef. My kids were soaking up the juice with their bread. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      My boys ate and ate and ate this and asked me if I could have it again so this has been added to our favorites! So easy to prepare and delicious too! What more could a busy mom ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I already have a spaghetti pie recipe in my collection, but I wanted to try a different one. I'm so glad I did...this is great!! Spaghetti made a nice firm "crust", and it was very flavorful. I didn't have ricotta or cottage cheese, so I substituted sour cream, and it worked out just as well. Thanks for posting!! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      It was so good! My kid who is so hard to please loved it and it was simple too. All the dishes are cleaned by the time its ready to come out of the oven. Thats my kind of meal, good and easy clean up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This was really really good. I cooked this for my parents and my husband and 20-month-old, and everyone loved it. The only complaint I have is that I didn't need 1 pound of spaghetti, not even half of that for two pie pans, and I couldn't freeze the spaghetti after it was covered in egg and parmasen, so that was kind of a waste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Even the younger kids loved this pie! I will be making this again soon at the request of my boys! Doesn't take long to make and serve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This was a great hit at our house! I altered the recipe a little for what I had on hand. I was out of cottage cheese for the egg mixture so I used 1/2 c. sour cream and 1/3 c. half-n-half, 1/3 c. parmesan cheese, 1 tsp. italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 c. of the spaghetti sauce and added the 1 tsp. of sugar to the egg (used 2 eggs) mixture instead. I added 1/3 c. parmesan cheese layer (thin) in between spaghetti and sauce and used sausage instead of ground beef. My kids loved it and put in orders for more! I can't wait to taste the difference with cottage cheese vs. my concoction in my next batch. They loved this and so did I. Definitely will become a OAMC dish for us! This is a nice change to our regular spaghetti dinner and not much more effort. Thank you Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      My kids and I finished up a whole pie in one sitting. It was that good! I used canned sauce, and just added in some spices to make it nice and spicy, then made it following the directions. Even though it has all the ingredients that you get when you make spaghetti, somehow making it this way was like eating something different and we loved it! I look forward to making your homemade sauce and trying it. I'm sure it will be extra special with your sauce Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I doubled this recipe to put some meals away in the freezer. Since the recipe already had meat in it, I was delighted with the vegetarian sauce I used: Claire Chartrand's 10 Minute Mushroom Spaghetti Sauce. For us, it was the perfect complement to this recipe. I used half beef and half a veal/pork mix, which is what I generally use in meatloaves and meatballs. Because I'd added all the flavours we like in the sauce, this dish was really very quick to prepare. Loved the eggs with the spaghetti and with the ricotta cheese (I used low-fat ricotta which I find in no way compromises the end result). A neighbour happened to drop in just as we were about to taste test this and another recipe. This pie is totally delicious: a great blend of flavours, one of those dishes where you really savour each mouthful. Our verdict: a 5-star super-star recipe, and one I'll certainly be making again when this stockpile runs out. Our neighbour went home with a copy of the recipe, and really keen to make it. Thanks so much for sharing this delicious spaghetti pie recipe, Linda! Made for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I made Linda's recipe for Linda's Meaty Spaghetti Sauce, and just left out the sausage. We used the sauce for this recipe and it was excellent! I will be making this again and again for my family, as they requested that I make it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I never made a spaghetti pie before, we really liked this and made a change to our normal pasta dish on Monday evenings! I will make this again and also will try to use chicken instead of beef. Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Everyone really enjoyed this recipe tonight at my house! I used Linda's recipe for sauce as suggested and we were all glad I did. It was wonderful! This will definately be added to my menu plan from now on. Excellent comfort food and one we enjoyed to the max! I used whole wheat spaghetti. Update: I made for my son's anniversary dinner and it was a smash hit! Everyone dug in and enjoyed every bite! DIL asked for the recipe, so I know she loved it! Thanks Linda! Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      I saw this pretty picture and had to make the recipe! I made it using Linda's Meaty Spaghetti Sauce and it was excellent! We will be having this again soon! Update: I made this again when my DS and his fiance came over, and they loved it! We ate 1 whole pie between the 3 of us! They went home with the recipe. Linda, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I have made Spaghetti Pie a few times and it was never as good as this! My DH said it was a keeper so we will be adding it to our menu rotation. It doesn't really take long to make and it actually makes 2 meals for us. I froze the 2nd pie to have when the urge strikes, and I don't think it will be sitting in there for too long., Love your sauce too Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      I made Linda's Meaty Spaghetti Sauce last week and made plenty of sauce and spaghetti, so I could make up some of these pies. I froze them and took one out for last night. We LOVED this delicious pie. So easy to put together and into the oven once the sauce and spaghetti is made. I whipped low fat cottage cheese, eggs and parsley in the blender and used in place of the Ricotta. It made a nice creamy consistency and easily poured into the pie. When it was cooked it made a nice layer and firmed up. The spaghetti sauce was delicious! This is a new favorite in my house and one I will make often as we really enjoyed it, and I can make them up ahead and freeze for when we feel like having pasta. Thanks Linda for this new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      My husband loved this. I used jar spaghetti sauce, added onions and mushrooms while browning the meat. Also combined my meat and sauce mixture all together instead of separate layers. I made it in a pie pan and a 8x8 and had leftovers for a couple of days, as it's just me, my hubby and my perpetually starving dog. Hubby said it tasted even better the next day and I agree! Thanks Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Didn't have any spaghetti leftovers but had some pasta - so used that instead! Used 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites. Also used low-fat ricotta. This was easy, tasty and everyone enjoyed it!! Thanks Linda! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This was delicious! It is so simple to make, but my sons got a kick out of it being a "pie". I used the sauce portion of "Recipe254738" and it was wonderful. I added some parmesan cheese to the ricotta cheese to give it some more flavor. I think it might be good to actually mix the ricotta cheese with the spaghetti first rather than spreading it on top. I think it might be better distributed that way, not sure. But that's a personal preference. I would also add a little more sauce next time. But this is delicious! I can see it being also being a great meatless dish and adding some extra cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This recipe is so easy! I added 3 cloves of fresh garlic and a small carton of cottage cheese to the store bought sauce as well as the other ingredients, and it made this recipe taste just like my mom's homemade lasagna. I also used whole wheat spaghetti noodles and you couldn't even tell! My whole picky family loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda's Spaghetti Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 561.9
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    36%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 168.4 mg
    56%
    Sodium 484.6 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites