Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linda's New England Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda's New England Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2009

      I really liked this but thought that the instructions could use a bit revision. While the recipe calls for 2 qts of milk, it does not say when to add it. I made about half the recipe, using a whole can of evaporated milk and the clam juice, and perhaps a cup or so of milk. I thought adding a quart would make it too thin. I did use a 1/4 cup of flour to help the texture. I added a bay leaf to the water with the onions and potato, as I think bay leaves really work well with this type of soup. I found this quite good, probably will try to thicken just a bit more next time. Looking forward to bringing leftovers to work tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I don't know how anyone could rate this with less than 5 stars when it deserves 10! Following the recipe exactly with no alterations produces a clam chowder packed with flavor and has a broth that is so delicious, you could eat just the broth! I did add in the clam juice and kept the broth thin, as that is how we like it. The butter gives it an amazing flavor and it needs the full amount to maximize the flavor. The evaporated milk gives it the creaminess, and with the added milk, it is excellent!! The first meal we had I left out the corn, but the second time I made it I added it in and it was delicious both ways! If it's possible, it's even better the second day as the flavors have a chance to mingle together. I have added this to my all time favorite soups and chowders and plan to have it many times during the long cold winters we have here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      I'm so sorry to only be able to rate this with a 3. I liked it but with all of the great 4 and 5 star reviews I was expecting something more. I have always made my clam chowder with bacon in it, but in the interest of lowering fat where every possible this recipe really appealed to me. I made 3 servings and used 3 small potatoes which was lots. The spuds and onion were cooked in not quite enough water to cover them and I added 3/4 can of fat free evap milk along with the clams and their juice to the water that was left in the pot. I topped it with low fat veggie Baco's and chives. Sadly, the clam flavor was very weak even with that full can. I skipped the margarine to save fat and added butter extract and Molly McButter so it had plenty of the butter flavor. I'll try the leftover tomorrow to see if the clam flavor increases. Made for Gimme 5 tag game. *EDIT*: I took Linda's suggestion and added clam juice to the leftover soup and that really sent it up to the top for me. Thanks Linda, I now have a low fat clam chowder recipe that is great! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This recipe made a wonderful clam chowder, however I made several changes in the recipe using the suggestions of previous reviewers. I started by halving the recipe, using only 3 large baking potatoes and 1 medium sized onion and chopped it to a small dice. When tender, I poured out all the boiling water. I used 3 6.5 oz cans of clams, 1 entire can of evaporated milk and only 1 cup of regular whole milk. I added 1/3 cup butter and thickened with 3 TBSP cornstarch stirring into some whole milk and adding it to the chowder. I also used the creamed corn to add a bit of flavor and thickness. Our chowder was delicious, wonderful thick, flavorful and I will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting, Linda's Busy Kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

    • on March 11, 2008

      I made this chowder and had along with some french bread, and it was awesome! I like my chowder with a few oyster crackers floating on top, and I don't thicken it or use the corn. It's great without, and very tasty. I just added a dollop of butter before serving for even more flavor. Excellent recipe Linda and one we have added to our winter menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I highly recommend using the optional creamed corn. Love the creamed corn in this soup! It adds a nice touch of sweetness, and also helps to thicken the soup. I added some thyme for some extra flavor. As I was adding the milk, I decided to leace out the last 2 cups, because it was getting too liquidy. I did thicken it a bit, but used cornstarch in cold milk. (Cornstarch dissolves so much easier than flour and you don't need as much.) Thanx for a great tummy-warming soup. I'll make this again with my little adjustments mentioned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This chowder is definately 5* for outstanding! I wish I could give it more. I made this the night before last and kept it in the refrigerator overnight for the flavors to blend. This simple dish is incredibly delicious and one that I will be making often in the cold months. I did thicken the broth because I was having it in bread bowls, but I tasted it before I did, and it was yummy! Thanks goes out to Linda for this prize recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda's New England Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (754 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 659.6
     
    Calories from Fat 212
    32%
    Total Fat 23.5 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 340.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.5 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites