Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linda's Kitty Litter Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda's Kitty Litter Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2010

      I made this cake for my child's grade 2 Hallowe'en party and it was a huge success. She has food allergies so I made it all milk and soy free. I did use 2 cake mixes-next time I will make a homemade cake instead because it is better quality but thankfully it was not too dry since we add the pudding. I crumbled ~1.5 cakes into the dish. I made a jello vanilla pudding mix (no cook) substituting coconut milk for the dairy and it was very tasty. For the kitty pooh, I could not use Tootsie Rolls so instead melted 1 cup of dairy-free chocolate chips with 1 tablespoon of dairy-free margarine and then added 2 cups of confectioners sugar. I actually kneaded the sugar in to make chocolate clay which we then formed into kitty pooh. They tasted like large chocolate chips. This made far too much so next time I would half the pooh recipe. I used Arrowroot cookies for the cookie crumbs and it was worth dyeing half green to get the look of real kitty liter. The pudding made nice wet blotches in the litter and helped to bind it together. I also added yellow thin sprinkle pieces to give it some occasional crunch. I served it in the kitty tray with the scoop in it-very authentic. I supplied clear plastic cups and spoons for the kids to eat it from as it is an easy cake for young kids to spill. I think it will be a tradition!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I made this cake for my family as a joke to see their reaction to dessert after dinner on Halloween. My DS and DD and their spouses thought it was wild and couldn't wait to try some of the poop :) It was a big success here! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      This turned out so fun. We used Tootsie Rolls, soft toffee rolls in lighter brown colors, Mary Jane and Bit-O-Honey candies for a variety of nice poop. All of my candies were fresh enough to mold by hand and not use the microwave. We had this for a small Family Party and did not finish it all. So I put the rest in the fridge. When your cake is cold- Watch out for the really cold hard poop! I did not think of them hardening up when cold, but the warmth of your mouth will soften them up in no time. I was unable to find a Carmel flavored Cake Mix, so I just mixed in some Carmel Ice Cream Topping into the Butter Flavor cake mix we used before baking and it turned out very tasty. I used the whole box of pudding and after sitting in the fridge, I would have liked a bit more pudding as it was very much absorbed into the cake. It is delicious, easy to make and so fun to introduce to the table. Such an unexpected cake. The only thing I would change in the future is to add a bit of color like JuJuBeJen did. Thanks for this version, we like the chocolate and carmel flavors.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Everyone here went bonkers for this cake at my annual Halloween party. They thought it was pretty gross to look at, but since they liked gummy everything and tootsie rolls, they ate it with glee! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I made this for my daughters Halloween party and one for work. Everyone loved the looked and once the got over the look they were still leery to try! lol Once they did they didn't think it was bad, but they were more impressed by the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Great recipe! Took this to my work's Halloween Party today and everyone got a kick out of it...even if some of them were too grossed out to eat any. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Have made this a couple of times before. Once you have people get over their initial first reaction, it's quite a hit! Easy to make and tastes great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      What a treat! Better than a trick! We loved it here. Thanks Linda Debbie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Great choice for a Halloween party I am going to tonight. I can't wait for everyone to dig into the poop! Of course I had to try a taste, and my oh my, it is truly delicious! Let's hope it's as big a hit with everyone at the party. Thanks Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      I just got done making this for our neighborhood block Halloween party, and it came out so cute. I took a little taste in the corner, and is it ever tasty! Kudos to you Linda for making my kids so happy. They got to help me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      The kids loved it! I will be making this again, and the kids can't wait! They even promised to help me mold the poop this time LOL! This cake is easy to make and fun to do with the kids. I followed the recipe and it came out so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I made this for a teenage Halloween party this weekend. It was a hit! Some of the kids refused to even look at it because it was so disgusting looking and others couldn't wait to dig in and look cool eating cat poop and litter. I used the larger then bite sized tootsie rolls so that I could roll them and twist them into little piles of poo. I took the extra chocolate pudding and left little puddles here and there and dribbled some of it down the inside of the litter pan in a few places to resemble the results of a cat with digestive issues using the pan. It was completely disgusting looking and perfect for Halloween. I swear that it looked just like a used, needing to be cleaned, litter box. It was so real and disgusting looking, you would swear that you could smell the real thing just from the visual. The taste was sweet and delicious, but the visual made the cake perfect for the party. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Loved this! I have had others with vanilla cake and vanilla pudding but this was was special! Loved the flavors of the caramel cake and chocolate pudding. The kids thought it was so cool to be eating from a Kitty Litter Box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      made this for a gag party. it was a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I made this for my daughter's halloween party at school. It turned out fantastic. I had teachers coming from all the floors to take pictures of it. The funny thing was that when the principal of the school came down to look at it, she told him to not worry, we had run it through the dish washer the night before. Her father's idea of a joke! Kids loved it, teacher's loved it. Great recipe. Pretty easy to make. I will make extra pudding on the next one. The cake seemed alittle dry, but not bad. Just seemed like it needed more pudding. Won't use the whole box, but just add enough extra to where the cake is alittle bit better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      My friend made this for her husband and it was great! It looked gross but tasted good. A good cake to play a joke or for cat lovers..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda's Kitty Litter Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.4
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    50%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 37.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 89.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    caramel flavored cake mix

    new kitty litter box

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites