12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really good!!! I've had dishes somewhat like this, but they've never had this variety of vegetables in them before, and I loved this variety! Next time I might try adding some garlic to this dish for added 'zip' :-) I had to add a bit more cream to this as it got a little too thick. :-) Maybe I'll try adding just a tad less cheese next time. Thanks for the recipe!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary July 12, 2003

My first posted review posted Jul 31, 2003, 2 of 2 I made the whole recipe it was just to good! Only 2 of us at home to eat it. I could have eaten this rich wonderful dish my self but boy I would have gained so much.So off to work it went with my DH. Got so many complements. I have a request to make it for the annual work picnic.And I will make it. The only change was I used a 1/2 cup of flour. I made this again and seen that butter is posted twice in the ingredients?? But not in the directions. I added some butter to the oil to brown the crabmeat. I really enjoyed this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 18, 2003

I made this according to the recipe. It turned out to be very bland. Cooking the vegetables in the cream sauce did not really seem to be a good idea. Perhaps if there were some garlic in the sauce, or if the vegetables were steamed and added on top at the last minute, their flavors might come through more strongly. (Just my thoughts.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao July 06, 2003

YUMMY!!!!!!!! Made this last night and we all devoured it! Not a recipe for the dieter, but extremely good to cheat with! Artificial crab could be substituted for the real stuff if cost is a factor. Thanks for a great recipe and good luck on the contest.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippie1 June 26, 2003

Delicious deelicious! My family gulped this down in no time and said they couldn't wait to have it again, so this was a sure fire winner here. We loved the mix of flavors and it was so good from the first bite to the last. Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieFanatic November 14, 2008

I have made this dish several times now. My DD, DS and I just love it. I have substituted shrimp for the crabmeat a couple of times and it's just as good as with the crab. I like the fresh crab the best I think. I use FF Half and Half for the cream, but otherwise follow the recipe. This is an excellent recipe Linda! Karen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids September 26, 2008

Well, I can see why this is a Zaar Star recipe! We loved it...right down to the last bite (which we were nearly fighting over!). I used lots more garlic than the recipe called for as we love it, and I used frozen peas instead of asparagus (out of season in northern hemisphere in February!), and imitation crab and spaghetti instead of fettucini---but I think we captured the essence of the recipe. I added the crab and peas right before serving, to warm them up, and that worked quite well. My hubby gave this a real big thumbs UP! Way to go!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber February 11, 2008

Family loved it. We had it along with some rolls and salad. Great recipe Linda! Jenn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen January 12, 2008

I am so sorry I have not reviewed this earlier!!! I have made this many times since I first made this a few months ago. The first time I made as written and it was awesome, but lately I have been making verisons of this with skim milk, margerine, and skipped the frying of the crab just broiling ti to make it more healthy. With those changes it still was pretty darn good. The cream sauce is really good, but when I made it with skim milk I needed to add I bit of corn starch to thicken it more. Also I added roasted garlic to it the other day and that sent the sauce over the top! This dish tastes decent the next day, but really is best when eaten right after it has been made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme November 21, 2007

This unbelieveably creamy, cheesy pasta dish is one that I will be putting on my menu rotation for sure. It was really really delicious, with lots of flavor! If I could give it more than 5 stars I would. This is something I would order in a nice restaurant. Thanks Linda!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Maven May 08, 2007
Linda's Fettuccine, Crabmeat and Veggies in Creamy Cheese Sauce