19 Reviews

Wowza. WHAT a sandwich. I really was not expecting this to be THAT good. Beans? Mayonnaise? Salt and pepper? What magical alchemy would transform these humble ingredients into a five-star recipe? I was dubious, but after reading the glowing reviews, I HAD to try it for myself. My friend and I slapped some Duke's on Publix whole grain bread with some cannelini beans, and plenty of salt and pepper to taste, and after our first bite, were hooked. We made sure to get the beans really dry after rinsing/draining-- we gently patted them dry with paper towels because we didn't want them to make the bread too soggy. The key was ample amounts of salt and pepper. A second sandwich (adulterated slightly with some avocado), wasn't as good until the right ratio of salt and pepper to beans, mayo, and avocado was attained. This has definitely changed the sandwich game-- thank you Linda for sharing! Can't wait to try this in it's pure form, with baked beans instead of whatever I had in the pantry. Thinking next time it will be easier to eat if the beans are mashed up a little first-- they kept falling out of the sandwich. Other than that, five shining stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgia S. January 04, 2016

Aunt Linda, this sandwich was one I was going to pass by, but I decided that if you made it, it must be good ,so Cassie made us one and when I got done with it, I had her make me up another one! I put a nice slice of vadalia onion on top of the beans, and man oh man was it good! This is a new favorite for us, and since it's so good for you, we will have them again very soon! Thank you for another delicious sandwich for us to enjoy! Mike

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike&Cassie September 11, 2011

Delicious, cheap, and versatile! Thanks for sharing. Manda wondered about the nutritional value, so here are some facts: 1/2 cup of beans provides about 8 grams of fiber, 30-40% of our folic acid requirements, and they are high in protein. The bread actually provides the starch necessary to make this meal a complete protein. Just be sure to use low-sodium beans. Leftovers of Treebeard's Red Beans and Rice (http://www.food.com/recipe/treebeards-red-beans-and-rice-121498) are PERFECT for this sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adria82 May 24, 2011

This was delicious! Because I am watching the waistline, I did make a few alterations in order to avoid using the mayonnaise. Instead, I used fat free cottage cheese I had pureed in a food processor (If you haven't discovered this low cal version of "mayonnaise", TRY IT NOW.) I spread the inside of a Napa cabbage leaf the mixture, added some red onion on top, and also plopped on there a dollop of hummus. YUM. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlin September 23, 2009

Who would have thought? This was a great sandwich that took no prep time. I am a bean lover so I thank you for a new way to eat beans!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore May 14, 2009

I was going through my maincook looking for something for dinner and I saw this recipe that I had saved. Well, it was time for lunch so I printed it out. Am so glad I did! I, unfortunately, didn't have any bread in the house but I did have small flour tortillas. I also had to use northern beans (my store doesn't carry navy). So those were the 2 changes but I am having this again tomorrow for lunch. I also had a side of cantaloupe and had a delicious lunch. Thanks for such a simple recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 21, 2009

So few ingredients, so quick to make: what could be easier? Trusting Linda's recipes and those who had previously made and reviewed this recipe, I knew that this was a MUST-TRY recipe, and what a wonderful find! Especially useful for those times when you have the bread but are scratching to find a suitable filling and also DELICIOUS! :) I used a combination of soya beans, butter beans and red kidney beans, all thoroughly drained. I spread both pieces of bread with mayonnaise and added baby spinach leaves (they find their way into most of my sandwiches!) on top of the beans. A really satisfying and delicious sandwich. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Linda. Made for Zaar Star Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder February 07, 2009

This is a wonderful sandwich! I will make this one again. It's so good. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 07, 2009

Well, I've got to concur with the previous reviewers. This sandwich tastes delicious. Really. I used baked beans on whole grain bread along with some slivered red onion. It was a great sandwich. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario December 28, 2008

This sandwich was such a treat! I made Linda's recipe for New England Baked Kidney Beans in the Crock Pot without heating up my kitchen, then made a sandwich with the leftovers. Drained the juice, slapped on a slice of vadalia onion and some mayo and we were good to go! Awesome sandwich Linda. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Chef Lori~ June 20, 2008
Linda's Bean and Mayonnaise Sandwich (Sandwiches)