Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linda's Bean and Mayonnaise Sandwich (Sandwiches) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda's Bean and Mayonnaise Sandwich (Sandwiches)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2011

      Aunt Linda, this sandwich was one I was going to pass by, but I decided that if you made it, it must be good ,so Cassie made us one and when I got done with it, I had her make me up another one! I put a nice slice of vadalia onion on top of the beans, and man oh man was it good! This is a new favorite for us, and since it's so good for you, we will have them again very soon! Thank you for another delicious sandwich for us to enjoy! Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Delicious, cheap, and versatile! Thanks for sharing. Manda wondered about the nutritional value, so here are some facts: 1/2 cup of beans provides about 8 grams of fiber, 30-40% of our folic acid requirements, and they are high in protein. The bread actually provides the starch necessary to make this meal a complete protein. Just be sure to use low-sodium beans. Leftovers of Treebeard's Red Beans and Rice (http://www.food.com/recipe/treebeards-red-beans-and-rice-121498) are PERFECT for this sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      This was delicious! Because I am watching the waistline, I did make a few alterations in order to avoid using the mayonnaise. Instead, I used fat free cottage cheese I had pureed in a food processor (If you haven't discovered this low cal version of "mayonnaise", TRY IT NOW.) I spread the inside of a Napa cabbage leaf the mixture, added some red onion on top, and also plopped on there a dollop of hummus. YUM. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Who would have thought? This was a great sandwich that took no prep time. I am a bean lover so I thank you for a new way to eat beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I was going through my maincook looking for something for dinner and I saw this recipe that I had saved. Well, it was time for lunch so I printed it out. Am so glad I did! I, unfortunately, didn't have any bread in the house but I did have small flour tortillas. I also had to use northern beans (my store doesn't carry navy). So those were the 2 changes but I am having this again tomorrow for lunch. I also had a side of cantaloupe and had a delicious lunch. Thanks for such a simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      So few ingredients, so quick to make: what could be easier? Trusting Linda's recipes and those who had previously made and reviewed this recipe, I knew that this was a MUST-TRY recipe, and what a wonderful find! Especially useful for those times when you have the bread but are scratching to find a suitable filling and also DELICIOUS! :) I used a combination of soya beans, butter beans and red kidney beans, all thoroughly drained. I spread both pieces of bread with mayonnaise and added baby spinach leaves (they find their way into most of my sandwiches!) on top of the beans. A really satisfying and delicious sandwich. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Linda. Made for Zaar Star Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This is a wonderful sandwich! I will make this one again. It's so good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Well, I've got to concur with the previous reviewers. This sandwich tastes delicious. Really. I used baked beans on whole grain bread along with some slivered red onion. It was a great sandwich. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      This sandwich was such a treat! I made Linda's recipe for New England Baked Kidney Beans in the Crock Pot without heating up my kitchen, then made a sandwich with the leftovers. Drained the juice, slapped on a slice of vadalia onion and some mayo and we were good to go! Awesome sandwich Linda. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Although this didn't sound too enticing to either my wife or I we decided to give them a try, because we enjoyed Linda's other sandwiches so much, and this is another winner! We used canned beans, drained them, and slathered them with mayo and a thin slice of raw onion. Fantastic sandwich! Thanks again Linda! Don

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      To TXhomemaker: Pls read the Ingredients: Beans - NOT HEATED!!! Good recipe, thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Loved this sandwich! I used home made beans right out of the fridge. Drained any juice before putting them on the bread. Then I added the mayonnaise to the top slice of the bread and added a thin slice of onion. Man, this was gooddddddd! I wasn't sure I was going to like this one, but decided to try it, because beans are a good way of getting in my protein. Now I have a new recipe for sandwiches, which is always a plus, especially if I like them as much as I did this one! Thanks Elaine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      Excellent recipe Linda! I made your recipe for Grammie Bea's Boston Baked Beans, and decided to make this sandwich for lunch at work. I used cold beans out of the fridge, and made sure I didn't use the juice. I did add the onion slice on top, thinly cut. I used a thin coating of mayo on each slice of bread also. What a great surprise as I bit into this sandwich. Don't let the simplicity of this recipe fool you. It really is excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Well, I don't know if I didn't do something right, but I took 2 peices of white bread, mayonnaised both slices, added heated black beans, draining them the best I could. It was a little soggy and I could eat it, but I just didn't care for it. I ended up just eating a bowl of the beans by themselves. I won't be making this again. Could be a matter of taste perhaps or did I do something wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      My dad used to make these for us when we were kids. He'd make a big pot of navy beans with ham that we'd eat over rice for supper. He'd use fresh bread, cold beans, mayo and a dash of tabasco, yummmyyy!!! Thanks Linda for the memory!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      YUM!!! As soon as I saw this, I knew I had to try it. I made mine with pinto beans, lite mayo and multigrain bread. It was fabulous! I am going to try grilling it next time. Thank you so much for the idea! I love beans, but I never would have even thought of a bean sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Tried half the sandwich just as written with black beans and the other half with the addition of a slice of garden tomato and cheddar. Liked it both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      I don't really know that this is the most nutritious lunch in the world, but it is AWESOME!!! I added a sprinkle of garlic powder and some slced onion to mine. I normally do not eat white bread, but I don't think this would be as good on any whole grain or whole wheat bread. I ate 3 sandwiches!!!:o. Thanks for a different and delicious idea. Definitely a winner! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda's Bean and Mayonnaise Sandwich (Sandwiches)

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 133.0
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    11%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 255.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites