34 Reviews

These were so delicious! I was doubly impressed by how quick and easy it was to mix up the batter. Start to finish, including chopping the apple, took about 10 minutes. I wasn't quite sure what to look for in terms of doneness. After 35 minutes it was brown, but I wasn't sure if it was from the cinnamon. I stuck the middle several times with a toothpick and it came out clean, so I took it out. When served, it tasted cake like which was delightful! I served it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. My mom said I definitely needed to make this recipe a lot more and my dad gave it 5 stars...quite a compliment! Thanks for posting this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leilani July 20, 2010

This really is a winner. If you like apple pie, you'll love it. Everyone liked it at our Mother's Day dinner and I had a couple of requests for the recipe. As suggested, I served it with vanilla ice cream. I think it would have been even better if it was still warm and will try that next time. I doubled the recipe, using butter instead of margarine, 2 tsps of cinnamon, 2 Macintosh apples and pecans instead of walnuts. It took 35 minutes in a glass 9x13 pan. I think the instructions could use more explanation for newer cooks. I followed the patterns I've learned for similar recipes, creaming the butter and sugar with a hand mixer, then adding the eggs, then the dry ingredients with 1/2 of the floor, incorporating it well before adding the rest of the flour, finally stirring in the nuts and apples. The consistency is like a chocolate chip cookie dough (minus the choc chips) with apples mixed in. It's really easy to throw together and is a nice change from my other dessert recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 May 14, 2012

My DD, who ONLY eats desserts with chocolate, asked for thirds. 'Nuff said!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KTgirl September 12, 2011

Fast, easy and delicious! Only took about 18 minutes for 9x9 pan at 350 degrees. One medium size Gala apple was just about 1 cup chopped.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crunchy Numbers March 06, 2010

I have made these several times now, and all I can say is these things are addicting! Don't know what happened when others made them, but they came out very much like brownies for me using an 8x8" pan. I can imagine a 9x13" made them way too thin and crispy. They are perfect now! I added more nuts than called for and used 2 big juicy apples and just threw them in. Worked great. We will be making these again real soon. We had them covered with vanilla ice cream, and they were awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyt57 April 27, 2008

I made these this afternoon (I had a couple of apples that needed to be cooked with or thrown out next week). Mine came out more like a cake (which is fine) but I was expecting a dense texture. I left out the nuts (my kids school is nut free and wanted them to be able to take them). I swapped marg. for butter - I am going to play with this recipe, but a great start for what I'm after, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom June 03, 2014

Delicious! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain July 16, 2013

It's very sweet. A small piece is more than enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes December 20, 2012

Very good.. I used butter which made it very rich but I loved how it was so quick and easy to put together! I also used a mcintosh apple

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee September 19, 2012

I have these baking in the oven right now, and have never made them before. They smell amazing! I mixed these up with the help of my 2 and 4 year old. I will most likely not rate these out of fairness, since I had to make a major substitution. I have had to quit using butter due to a milk protein intolerance in my nursing infant. I substituted coconut oil for the butter, which I do in all types of recipes with fantastic results. It does change the consistency of the final product though. The melting point of coconut oil is 85 degrees, so when I mixed in the eggs (I should have known to wait for them to reach room temp) the batter seized up. I am sure they will turn out delicious but more dense than normal. I will update later when we eat them! Made them for A week during Mornings with Mommy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vyxie's Kitchen April 25, 2012
Linda's Apple Brownies