Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Linda McCartney's Magical Mystery Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda McCartney's Magical Mystery Tacos

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2002

      Gawsh, we need a 10-star reviewing system! This is a fantastic recipe! The tofu did not taste tofu-ey at all, and my sister thought that I'd used panir! I scaled it to 4 servings, and used 1/4 cup of tomato paste dissolved in 1/3 cup water for the tomato sauce. I used a little less of chili powder since I don't like spicy food. The filling was great even in the plain wheat rotis that we make. Thanks Mirjam, I LOVE this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Ok, I admit, I didn't think this was going to go over big with my family..but they loved it! My 6yr old asked for seconds and that is something. This is my first time making a tofu dish and I will definitely have to experiment more. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      This is my first time ever making tofu, to take over to a friend's house, and it was a big hit! I made it exactly as the recipe states, and I could have used a little more heat personally, but it was the right temperature to take to an event where you aren't sure of people's chili tolerance. I'll keep this recipe on-hand even for myself, and that's saying something for a meat-lover!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      These made for a pretty tasty and relatively healthy meal! I topped my tacos with homemade guac, sour cream, and cheese, though out of personal preference. This was a great way to use up tofu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      These were delicious! I made them as written except for leaving out the oil and sauteing in water and using flour tortillas instead of corn. And my hubby also added Ranch dressing to his. Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      The flavor was great but I didn't care for the mushy texture. I made it a 2nd time substituting Griller Crumbles (MorningStar Farms) for the tofu. I liked this much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Wow! I've made this recipe twice now and it's delicious. The second time I added some kidney beans, and used my own taco spice mix. My husband and I just cannot get over how great these are. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      really great recipe! I added a little lime juice as well, which cut the spice a little. I will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Surprisingly filling and delicious for how simple it is. I added a can of kidney beans for a little more sustenance and found that it produced about 10 tacos. I also added 1 tbsp. of nutritional yeast and was pleased with the results. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      A lovely and tasty filling for tortillas, and quick to make, too! A hit with my vegetarian friends! Personally I was ever so slightly iffy about the tomato sauce, and might give plain crushed tomatoes and a touch of spice a try the next time... Hmm! A great tofu dish though - I think I'm seriously getting into the stuff! Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I really liked these. These are my new tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      A very nice recipe for vegetarian tacos. I used a bit more chilli powder than indicated, but then we love spicy food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      I was also attracted to this because I'm a Beatles fan. This was a nice change from regular tacos. I need to brush up on my tofu cooking skills because it had a scrambled egg texture and a lot of it dissapeared. I used Jalapeno Veggie Slices on the taco and really enjoy the kick it gave it. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      This is a wonderfully cheap and easy recipe. We always make double, and we love to serve this over tortilla chips (tacos are so messy) with shredded cheese on top. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      These were blander than I expected but it still made for a very nice meal. Very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda McCartney's Magical Mystery Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.6
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    35%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 405.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites