Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lime Pickled Red Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lime Pickled Red Onions

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2013

      I have never tried pickled onions before, but I was trying to imitate a lentil salad with kale and beet chips that I tried at Nordstrom's Bistro in Murray, Utah. Part of the salad is pickled onions. <br/><br/>These have a great flavor. If the salad works out, I'll post a recipe with all the different components. I can see these onion making a good addition to many salads and sandwiches. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      I had no idea onions could be this delicious! I was worried because my red onion was super strong, but the lime juice mellows the onion and the onion mellows the lime. I didn't have cilantro, used dried mexican oregano and they were really stellar. We ate these last night on tacos with sour cream and tomato, then today on grilled cheese for lunch. Good yesterday, even better today! This recipe definitlely benefits from being made a day in advance.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      These are fabulous! I could only get white vidalia onions at the store and I used half of a large one. I didn't use any cilantro, but I used 1/2t dried basil. The smell is amazing and the onions really liven up a dish. Next time I'll have to try adding hot peppers (I used half a jalapeno - cut in small strips - but I can't even tell it's in there). The only problem is onion breath. I find that when I heat them in the microwave, they cooked enough for it not to be a problem. Also, I saw another pickled onion recipe where the onions are blanched for a minute, this may also get rid of the problem but I've never tried it so I'm not sure. I'll definitely be making this often (at least as often as I make Hispanic/Southwest food).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Great addition to mexican dishes e.g. Fiesta Chicken w/ Jalapeno Cilantro Creme (161360)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      This is also good with apple cider vingar to your taste, add some sliced green chilies for spice...again to your taste....add a little sugar, about 1/2 a tsp...it is so yum......top this on your favourite curry...espciallly meat curries

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      These are delicious! I love the combination of flavors - these really perk up a spinach salad! As usual, I added probably twice as much cilantro as called for, and actually, I forgot that they were on the counter and they sat out at room temperature overnight - but they were still awesome. I'm thinking of using a white onion next time and then using this recipe as the onions in some pico de gallo or other fresh salsa, and I'm definitely going to put them on a veggie burger! Thanks for another quick, easy, healthy and scrumptious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Saw this in a thread over on the boards & thought it sounded so good that I had to try it right away. Used a white onion because that's what I had, some lime & lemon juice because my limes weren't juicy enough, & parsley instead of cilantro. I marinated it at room temp as stated in the recipe, then refrigerated until required which ended up being 24 hours. They were delicious! Served with T-bone steaks & a salad of rocket (arugula), baby spinach & cherry tomatoes... tangy, fragrant, perfectly spiced onions on top. Will be making these again, thanks for sharing :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      These are wonderful! Even better after a night in the fridge! I had these as kind of a side with mexican food, but am dying to trying them with salmon, YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      These are very good, and very easy to make, I use my slicer and make the slice very thin, followed recipe but added some lemon juice and used curly parsley instead of the cilantro, didn't have any on hand. Very refreshing for the summer time, be great sprinkled on top of a salad. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lime Pickled Red Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.7
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    62%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1171.5 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites