Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lime Marmalade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lime Marmalade

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2010

      Highly recommended!! This recipe resulted in the best marmalade I have made in 30 years. Spectacular! My neighbours think so too. I used a large pan with about 3 1/2" of marmalade liquid boiling. It took 25mins to jell. The colour is still beautiful. I also loved the fact that it is a 'fuss free' recipe - except for the fine slicing of course. Previously, when making lime marmalade I tried to use my new American heavy duty food processor for slicing. It's rotating central stalk broke. Apparently our West Indian Limes, small, very little pith and solid, are too heavy for slicing in this manner??? Why don't they make the stalk of steel? Anyway, my dear husband did most of the slicing - he'll be doing most of the marmalade eating too! I find that if a marmalade exudes liquid after opening, I place the jar (without top) in the microwave, on med heat for 3 minutes, no stirring and it revives like newly made marmalade. Happy preserving everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      yum, yum and yum. i soaked the limes for almost 24 hours and followed the recipe exactly. got a bit panicky as i had to use two pans due to not having a big enough one but i slightly staggered their boiling/adding the sugar times which worked out ok. both were easily ready at under 20 mins and i thought the lime taste was pleasantly sweet/sharp with a lovely burst of lime when i got a bit of rind. very easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      This recipe is delicious. We have Kalamansi limes in our backyard. These limes are like very small bitter oranges, full of seeds. Everything about them is orange, so I'm not sure why they are called limes, except they are sour. I made a beautiful batch of orange marmalade, like the best Seville marmalade you can buy, and it has the perfect balance of tart to sweet. This is a great recipe that works every time, and everyone loves the result.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I was thrilled at the result I got from this recipe. I was fairly easy to make and everyone loves it. I have rarely achieved a good jam so this recipe must be excellent if I could make it successfully!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This recipe is a jem - with soft peel and clear jelly - lots of flavour, full of the tang of the fruit and a big hit for toast at breakfast. I have made marmalade for almost 40 years and have never found one that you do not stir so was very interested in this one. It cuts down the boiling time of many similar recipes but works a dream. Highly rated. Why I wonder did it throw a juice in the jar after opening? Not a problem, just interested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Simple to make, tangy and just sour enough. Just how I like marmalade. Boiled for about 20 min for a perfect jell. Final product was a clear marmalade with well spaced fruit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      So delicious - thank you! It was a "let's save those limes in the fridge" so try a lime recipe exercise and I actually added some ginger (just because I love ginger) to it and made it with brown sugar but followed every steps as stated and result is magnificent. I will make from next time. xxx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      Just wanted to thank you! This recipe works and the flavour seems to get even better as it is kept for a few months. Had to contend with, Oh it won't work, etc...but the proof was in the successful outcome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      I can't wait for breakfast! This turned out almost exactly like I thought it would; the big difference was the amount; I cant figure out how I ended up with eleven 8oz jars, but I'm not complaining! I'm glad I read the reviews and split it up into two batches for the last boiling. When that was done, I mixed them together before putting it in the jars, so that the consistency would be the same for the whole batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      I made this yesterday and today. It's a very easy to follow recipe, it set beautifully and is lovely and clear. I added some kaffir lime leaves in a muslin during the last 20 minutes of the initial simmer before the sugar for a twist.

      I don't know if it's the time of year, imported fruit (I'm in the UK) etc, but it's very tart. My partner, who is very fond of lime marmalade, is a fan as it's a wonderful fresh taste unlike shop bought, but it's a bit of a marmite/gentleman's relish situation, ie use sparingly. Not one to dollop!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      This is the very first time I have ever made marmalade. I was given the fresh yellow limes and I only had mainly raw and brown sugar in the house. It is a stunning deep golden colour. Used a "V" slicer to get the fineness factor and then a quick wiz in the processor - 10s. Of the 8 med/large jars of the double mix I made - 7 have been claimed and I have only what I kept from the pan and 1 jar left within 1 day of making! Brilliant recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      Great recipe. I found it very easy. I used the slicing attachment on my food processor to slice the limes thin and evenly. I also used our steamer to steralise the jars.

      The marmalade is nice a bitter (as good marmalade is supposed to be) and gelled well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      I was looking for a way to use some limes that I thought might go bad, and this recipe hit the spot. The marmalade jelled perfectly and is very tasty and tart. I added just one drop of green food coloring, and you can see the results in the photo that I posted. As my limes were a little difficult to slice, after struggling with a couple of them I put the rest through a Kitchenaid food grinder using the disk with larger holes. The texture and look of the end product are both good. I added one lemon because I was concerned that the limes might not be fresh and juicy enough to jell, and I may add an orange the next time to sweeten and smooth out the flavor a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Wow, can't believe I haven't got around to reviewing this recipe. Have always had flops with jam in the past, but hate to waste and my husband bought a lime and then a cumquat tree! The first batch turned out absolutely beautifully. Set perfectly and the kids just loved it also. Tried it then with cumquats and 1/2 raw, 1/2 rapadura sugar and again excellent results overlaid with a slight caramel flavour. Have now just made another lime batch made fully on rapadura sugar. Yummo, lime and caramel favours together! Thanks so much for posting this recipe with such lovely detailed instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Silly me! Thinking that I would only make half the recipe in case it was to tart for my friends and family there was only enough for a few of them. The others got wind of it and now Im in big trouble. The recipe was great and now I will be making it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      I found that this receipe produces a very bitter Marmalade. I tried to resoak the sliced limes by just changing the water unfortunately this increased the bitterness.It was so bad I had to dump this batch. I would suggest that you use just the lime zest, not the entire lime rind and I suggest that you add add additional lime juice too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I don't know if my limes (freshly cut from my tree) were too pithy or if the marmalade is supposed to be this bitter. The only part that I found edible was the cooked rind. If I try again (I have plenty of limes to play with), I'll drain the soaked limes and replace the water, maybe then it would be less bitter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      this is the first time i have ever made anything like this. it wasn't that bad! i have lime trees also and find it hard not to waste any. my DH who loves marmalade loves this flavour and especially the smell around the house from cooking it. i did have to boil it a lot longer than 12 mins and ended up with three pans on the go (i doubled the amounts-i had too many limes to use!)but patience and it all came together thank you for a good receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      This is an excellent and easy to prepare recipe and the jam comes out with nice color and clarity. We also have a cumquat tree, so I tried adding about 10% cumquats - some sliced and some halved. This really added a nice accent to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lime Marmalade

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 322.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    79%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.7 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 80.0 g
    320%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites