8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Heather, this was a great sounding recipe when I first saw it for our cookout-cookathon. I made the marinade, but I used filets instead of the chuck steak. It was wonderful. I am addicted to lime and cilantro anyway, and this was a great marinade. I will use it again. Thanks for posting this recipe. ;-)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie July 07, 2002

I made this for my family tonight, and all three of my girls couldn't get enough. Perfect balance of tastes nothing overpowered or overwhelmed. I used this with t-bone steaks, and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tebrist May 19, 2013

This turned out great, its my family's favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naughtybunny25 May 01, 2011

I really enjoyed the flavor of this marinade. I, too, skipped the jalapeno, but the cilantro and lime combo was delightful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighty August 04, 2008

This is a good quick marinade. I left out the jalapeno because I didn't have one and added red pepper flakes. They worked well. I would like to try this again with the jalapeno and maybe some more heat. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon June 26, 2008

Excellent! I was worried that an 45min would not be enough time to marinate, but it turned out fantastic. The lime really added a wonderful dimension that I was not expecting! I followed another person's post advice about scouring the steak and I think it really helped soak up the yummy flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lostcook June 09, 2008

Very good! I used the marinade, as written, on a 1 1/2 lb. flank steak, which I lightly scored on both sides. It picked up the flavors very well and my family enjoyed it very much. I served this with a nacho casserole and grilled banana peppers. Wonderful dinner! thanks Heather :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude July 01, 2006

Heather, this was really good. I did omit the cumin (just had too much this week) and used about 2 tbsp Worchestershire instead (for the spices and color). I know that really changes the recipe--sorry. Next time I will do it by the book. I was amazed how the lime juice went to work tenderizing the meat. I used a top round and you could cut it with a fork. Also I was a little concerned when I tasted the marinade and it seemed really hot but the finished product was not hot at all. Just a nice crispy edge on a juicy piece of meat. And so flavorful. 5 stars to you! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaymee July 28, 2004
Lime-Cilantro Grilled Steak