33 Reviews

I was so anxious to try this I went to a grocery store 30 miles away to get gingerroot! It was well worth it. I also added more salt, probably a cup and a half and used olive oil. I have used on my hands only so far, and they are glowing and so smooth. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe and I will be sharing with my friends and family!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessm March 07, 2003

This is great! I used extra light olive oil and corse kosher salt. I made extra for my friend and she loved it too. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Punky Julster March 17, 2003

yes, this is a wonderful scrub!!! very unique and plesant smelling. Only thing.....make sure you haven't any open cuts on your hands. OUCH! ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mia127 January 12, 2003

I tried this based upon the reviews, and we LOVE it.... It was quick, easy, cheap, and it works. My family and I have made this using Vanilla, Almond, and a Lime Coconut to that beats anything on the market today. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Since I bake for a hobby, i was able to use extracts I already had and a box of table salt that cost an addtional .35 cents....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KHH July 28, 2012

I made this along with "Simple Sugar Scrub" and liked this one much better. It is less abrasive, and the oil lingers so that it feels a bit more moisturizing too, whereas the lingering oil in the sugar one was a bit sticky. Great way to use up leftover ginger, too! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS October 19, 2010

I was out of fresh ginger and limes (and way to lazy to run to the store!) so I just used the salt and oil. I actually tweaked it a little, and used 1 cup of salt and 3/4 cup oil, with a splash of vanilla for the scent. It was wonderful! Just as good as any over-priced store-bought scrub. For my next batch I"ll be using the ginger and lime. Thanks a bunch!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WillsMommy April 26, 2009

Five gold stars for this wonderful scrub. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allie Bell September 11, 2008

As everyone before has said, this is fantastic! I only had coarse salt so used that, but had to pretty much triple the amount - and I should have blended it much longer than I did to compensate for the rougher texture! I used organic sweet almond oil because I felt like treating myself, and it was truly wonderful. Thanks! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seznam January 06, 2008

Smells wonderful and leaves my hands so soft! I used some after chopping onions and garlic and guess what - my hands now smell like lime and ginger! Whoopee! After reading all the reviews, I grated the ginger before adding to the blender with the salt to pulverize (I used a double dose of Kosher salt) before adding the lime juice, lime zest and sweet almond oil that I used as the carrier. I will *never* be without this magic potion! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie July 17, 2007

Thank you so much for recommending this!! I attacked my b/f with this and it worked really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenPo December 19, 2006
Lime and Ginger Salt Glow