Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lime and Ginger Salt Glow Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lime and Ginger Salt Glow

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2002

      One of my hobbies is making soaps and bath products. Had to make this when I saw the recipe. My elbows have rough skin and sometimes wearing a cardigan or jumper it can be very painful. I have used this on my elbows (and feet) for three days and my elbows have improved so much I can't believe it, I have tried many creams but they never made a difference. The ginger I grated, the first batch I made with sunflower oil but made a second as a gift for a friend and used olive oil, I tried some of that and when I make my next scrub it will be with olive oil. I also used the lime zest, not just because it looks nice but because it contains oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      This feels and smells wonderful! I did have to add quite a bit more salt, almost double, to make it thick enough for me. I also added some lime zest for color. This is going in many gift baskets this holiday. LeeAnn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2002

      This recipe deserves over 5000000000000000000000000 stars - I think you can become a MILLIONARIE with this. Just make this and sell and you'll be ginger-lemon scrub queen, I swear on that:) I wanted to make this ever since you posted it, but, somehow it prolonged upto today. At 1:30am(Yes, 1:30AM!), I decided to make this. And, after I made this, I washed the bottom half of my left hand under running water. Then, I applied a little of this paste in circular motions over my elbow and the remaining wet part of my hand. I applied it in circular motions for about 5 minutes. Then, I washed it off under warm tap water. OMG! My hand was soooooooooo smooth! I just couldn't believe it! I can't wait for tomorrow morning to share this with my mom! Also, I will use this for my tired feet, especially my soles and my knees! And, my face too and my neck and every cm of me!LOL. This is sooooo nice, really recommend this to one and all. Its 2:30am right now and my hand is feeling so soft and nice. I think I'm ADDICTED to this recipe! Not think, I AM!!! Now, I just gotto go find an empty tub and make this in bulk! I'll re-heat it a bit in my microwave before using. I'm going to use this after my shower tomorrow. Really adore you for posting this. Endless thanks! I've shared this recipe with over 50 people in the last few days, through email, telephone, hand-written postal mails, and, I even made a box of this for a friend as a gift and gave it to her y'day. I will have to get more salt soon, lol,@ at which I am making this recipe :) Please see: If you have any such recipes, easy and really good, pls. do share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      Very nice! This mixture really makes your skin feel silky smooth as soon as you rinse it off. It has a very nice feel when you are using it and a lovely scent. At the suggestion of one of the other reviewers, I did also add some grated lime zest for color, which I would do again. The only drawback is the consistency - even though I added the liquids slowly, it started to get very soupy as soon as I addd a little of the oil and lime juice. The finished product was very loose and wet, so I mixed in a bit more salt and ginger to help thicken it. The "glow" works beautifully however and I really will use this again and again, only I will play around with the measurements of the liquids to produce a thicker paste. I am storing mine in the refrigerator in a glass jar, giving it a shake to blend before using.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      love it. it smells so nice and what a treat for a busy mom to sit down and soak and massage her feet! i get very dry skin and have never found anything that worked until now. i used olive oil, doubled the salt and ginger and added the lime rind. thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      I made a batch of this as a last minute gift. The jar would not hold it all so I had a little left for me. What a great scrup! Worked great and made me feel better knowing that I made it. I will follow the suggestion about grating the ginger next time as I ended up with some pretty big chunks with the blender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      I was really broke, and couldn't afford to buy a friend a salt scrub as a birthday present which is something we do for each other every year. I chanced upon your recipe, and gave it a go..., it was so good!! So wonderful that my friend and I have decided to just recreate this recipe each year for each other as present. The stores don't make them as good as this!! We have changed our tradition thanks to you!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I can't wait to make more of this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      Mmmm... this is lovely! I did not add the full 1/2 cup oil; probably more like 1/4 cup. This worked very well on my poor winter-roughened feet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      This is wonderful! I made it with Olive Oil and decided to add not only the Zest from the Limes but also Zest from a Lemon. I doubled the salt, for a total of a cup because original receipe was too 'soupy' I used coarse Sea Salt (1/2 Cup) and regular salt for the other half-cup. The smell was delicious, and so pretty with yellow and green Zest. I gave this to several friends over the holidays and they LOVE it too! I put the mixture in a pretty clear glass candle holder (empty of course) that had a top on it. I made a pretty label on my computer and put ribbons on the top-knot of the glass lid. Very pretty and festive. I also printed out the directions for each gift. I tried it out before giving it to my friends, and was amazed how it softened my skin. Definitely a Keeper! Thanks for broadening your Cookbook to include this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      Oh, this was so wonderful. Thanks for such a great recipe. I also did as most of the others who made this and added a bit more salt to make mine thicker. But the one major change I did make was instead of vegetable oil and olive oil as it seems everyone else was doing, I used grapeseed oil as it has no odor and is perfect for the skin and also has anti aging properties. This made is SO perfect! Again my sincere thanks since I am always on the lookout for some really cool things to make and I think this may be one of the coolest. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      I was so anxious to try this I went to a grocery store 30 miles away to get gingerroot! It was well worth it. I also added more salt, probably a cup and a half and used olive oil. I have used on my hands only so far, and they are glowing and so smooth. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe and I will be sharing with my friends and family!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      This is great! I used extra light olive oil and corse kosher salt. I made extra for my friend and she loved it too. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      yes, this is a wonderful scrub!!! very unique and plesant smelling. Only thing.....make sure you haven't any open cuts on your hands. OUCH! ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      I tried this based upon the reviews, and we LOVE it.... It was quick, easy, cheap, and it works. My family and I have made this using Vanilla, Almond, and a Lime Coconut to that beats anything on the market today. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Since I bake for a hobby, i was able to use extracts I already had and a box of table salt that cost an addtional .35 cents....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I made this along with "Simple Sugar Scrub" and liked this one much better. It is less abrasive, and the oil lingers so that it feels a bit more moisturizing too, whereas the lingering oil in the sugar one was a bit sticky. Great way to use up leftover ginger, too! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I was out of fresh ginger and limes (and way to lazy to run to the store!) so I just used the salt and oil. I actually tweaked it a little, and used 1 cup of salt and 3/4 cup oil, with a splash of vanilla for the scent. It was wonderful! Just as good as any over-priced store-bought scrub. For my next batch I"ll be using the ginger and lime. Thanks a bunch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Five gold stars for this wonderful scrub. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      As everyone before has said, this is fantastic! I only had coarse salt so used that, but had to pretty much triple the amount - and I should have blended it much longer than I did to compensate for the rougher texture! I used organic sweet almond oil because I felt like treating myself, and it was truly wonderful. Thanks! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Smells wonderful and leaves my hands so soft! I used some after chopping onions and garlic and guess what - my hands now smell like lime and ginger! Whoopee! After reading all the reviews, I grated the ginger before adding to the blender with the salt to pulverize (I used a double dose of Kosher salt) before adding the lime juice, lime zest and sweet almond oil that I used as the carrier. I will *never* be without this magic potion! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      Thank you so much for recommending this!! I attacked my b/f with this and it worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lime and Ginger Salt Glow

    Serving Size: 1 (413 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 681.9
     
    Calories from Fat 656
    96%
    Total Fat 72.9 g
    112%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 37769.6 mg
    1573%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites