Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lima Beans With Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lima Beans With Bacon

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2011

      I made this recipe last night and we loved it! In fact, I think these may be the best lima beans I've ever eaten. The tang of the red onions was a nice addition. (I added a little more than 1/3 cup.) Bacon crumbled in at the end provides a nice crunch and (obviously) great flavor. I will definitely be making this recipe again-- it's fast, easy, & tasty! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      These were fabulous! I had already boiled the lima beans for dinner, but just wasn't looking forward to eating them plain. I'm so glad I checked recipezaar out first. This was fast and easy, and I had all the ingredients on hand. I used half a bag of lima beans, one slice of bacon, and handful of red onion, and a generous sprinkle of brown sugar. This recipe is going to become a staple. My 6 year old preferred his beans plain, but his 1 year old sister ate nothing but these beans for dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      These were great. I changed them just a bit. I used parkay spray butter to taste with water to cook in. Didn't have red onion, used white, and used Splenda brown sugar.I also used turkey bacon. I thew everything in pan and cooked. YUMMY! My daughter who didn't like Lima beans loved them. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      OH MY!!!!! I don't like lima beans or butter beans but these were awesome. I have a new love for lima beans. LOL. All my kids (except bean hater is still a bean hater) and husband loved them. I will make these often to get some different veggies into my kids. Thanks for a great recipe. Oh yeah, I left the onion out and they were still wonderful...kids would not touch it with onions in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      I am NOT a lima bean fan, but my boyfriend sure is, he has packed the freezer with bags of them. I tried this recipe today, and these were really good! I did tweak the recipe very slightly. After making as directed and tasting, I decided to add a little liquid smoke to enhance the flavor of the bacon, and a little balsmatic vinegar to give it a little tang. I also crumbled the bacon and stirred it in and let simmer for about 30 minutes. Very tasty!! I think that this recipe woould be great with butterbeans, but it was yummy with the lima beans too, thanks Roxy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Yes these are addictive. I did make a change. I thought I had bacon but didn`t so I use pepperoni. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      These were very good. I actually prefer butter, salt and pepper because I love lima beans, but for my boyfriend, these were a huge hit. He swore he didn't like lima beans but he gobbled up his whole plate and went back for seconds. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      An outstanding dish for people who enjoy lima beans and for those who aren't quite sure. I love the flavor of red onions cooking gently aftr the bacon has left the pan. I cut the amounts to: 10 ounces beans, 3 slices bacon, 1/4 cups onions and brown sugar, and the recipe still turned out wonderfully. Thank you, Roxygirl, for a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lima Beans With Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.9
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    17%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 116.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes