Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Like Mom's Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Like Mom's Pineapple Upside Down Cake

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2009

      Great, moist and flavorful. I love pineapple upside cake and this was no exception. I was a little worried because the batter filled the pan to the top, and I was afraid the batter was going to overflow while cooking, but it turned out great. I had to cook it for an additional 15 minutes to get the center cooked through. Thanks for another wonderful recipe, diner524. Made for ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      Omg! This cake came out perfectly and it was delicious. My family devoured it so quickly I wish I had made two. This was the first time I baked a cake from scratch and the recipe was so easy and simple. I will definitely save this recipe and use it many times. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      My family was begging for a pineapple upside down cake and I am so glad I found your recipe! We loved it! The downside is I did over cook it a bit, but I know for next time to pull it out of my oven sooner. (Not a problem with your recipe, but my grumpy old oven!) Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      This is a great recipe! I took into account some of the other reviews and loosely packed the brown sugar for measuring and also only used 1 cup with the melted butter. I used crushed pineapple since that's all that was all I had. Instead of creaming butter and sugar, I mixed sugar and coconut oil. I find coconut oil is so good in baking; it adds a softness and hit of coconut flavor. I used mostly pineapple juice (added about 10% soymilk for richness). I don't have a mixer, so hand mixed everything together. I poured it all in a round cake pan (don't know if it is 8" or 9"), but the batter came almost to the top. Luckily it didn't spew out in the oven. I have a small convection oven, so I adjusted temp and baking time. Overall, wonderful cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      I loved this upside down cake. The directions are perfect. It is a beautiful cake and it ttasted terrific. I especially liked the fact that it didn't use packaged cake mix. I did put cherries in the center of the pineapple to give it a little color. Thanks for sharing a true keeper. Made for ZWT7-Pacific Islands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      The flavor of the cake is good but personally there is too much brown sugar used on the bottom of the pan with the pineapple. I would suggest half the amount because a lot of the sugar were still stuck to the pan once I flipped the cake and were not dissolved. Over all, this cake tastes good but on the extreme sweet side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Thank you for sharing this wonderful cake! I looked high and low for a good old fashioned pineapple upside down cake that I could make from scratch. I made this for my own little sweet tooth I was having. I know I oughta be ashamed to say it, but I ate the entire cake myself! I can't wait to bake it for company or a potluck. I'm quite sure it would be a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      it is father's day in germany and having decided to make a pineapple cake, i searched the site but kept finding recipes with store box cake mixes. naja! i found this one and decided to give it a try. i cut the recipe in half (because i wanted to make a smaller cake) while also cutting the sugar in half as we like less sugar. i used mostly pineapple juice along with a splash of cream to give make it a bit more rich. i shortened the baking time due to the size of my pan. i might add more pineapple to the sides next time but otherwise it came out fantiastic! danke schon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      this cake was delicious and very easy to make. i used a half sheet pan and doubled the recipe the only thing I would change next time is to cut brown sugar down to about half as alot of it was still in the pan after I flipped cake. But the tast e was great, I used all pineapple juice and it gave it a wonderful flavor, thanks for posting this Diner52. Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Excellent cake. I've tried many recipes, but this is the best. Moist texture, good flavor. I thought there was a little too much brown sugar and will try 1 cup next time, although I packed the sugar and you may not have to. I used all pineapple juice, no milk, and I used crushed pineapple because that is all I had on hand. Baked it in a 10 inch cash iron pan, and placed maraschino cherries on top after removing from pan. Also, served with 'cool whip'. My husband and grandson loved it, and so did I. Thanks diner524 for a wonderful receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      This recipe has a great texture to it. I was going for a "Pina Colada" upside down cake, so I substituted the milk for coconut milk and even added some to the butter/sugar mixture. Next time I'll try it with coconut cream so that the flavor stands out more. My only complaint is that since no pan size was specified, I used 9x13. The cake was way too "thin"; I'll use 9x11 next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      i liked that oit did not have cake mix the outcome was much to sweet for me. Maybe it was my mistake as well as i used fresh pineapple and that did not really work at all. I will make this again using caned pineapple and less sugar. ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I used a 9x13 pan and I just love the thickness of the cake. Moist and just like Mom use to make for sure. Thank you, this will be the recipe I go to from now on. Made by member of "Cooks With Dirty Faces" for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was a deliciously moist cake. We all love pineapple so it was a big hit with my family. Made for the Dining Daredevils ZWT 5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      This cake is delicious. But I did make some changes. I only used 1/2 stick of butter and 2/3 cups of sugar for the glaze and it was perfect that way for us. I did add some pineapple juice and rum to it. And for the cake I also used only 1/2 c sugar and 2/3 stick butter. Any more and it would have been too sweet and buttery for us. I also should mention that I used whole wheat flour and it still came out perfectly :) Made for zwt5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      This was so good. I thought it was going to be way too sweet, but it had just the right amount for us. I used my 10 inch cast iron skillet and that worked out great. I love this cake. Thanks diner. Made for LivingStrong May 09 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Sooo good, everyone LOVED this! I cooked in a cake pan, and from another recipe, (I think Mean Chef's?), I added small pieces of pineapple to the sides of the pan (upright) before pouring the batter in. What a great idea that is! I also used all pineapple juice and used pecan halves in the center of the pineapple rings and a few on top of the batter as well. My time to bake was 40 minutes. Thanks so much for posting, diner524!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      This is one awesome Pineapple Upside Down Cake. I have never been happy with PUDCs before as the cake always had too coarse of a crumb. This cake has a nice moist texture, tons of flavor and a nice fine crumb. I used all pineapple juice in the batter and baked in my 10-inch skillet. I will not change a thing the next time I make this - yes I WILL make this again! My oven did take 43 minutes to complete but it was well worth it! Thank you diner524 for a wonderfully "true Pineapple Upside Down Cake"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      excellent. I made this in a 12" cast iron pan. The cake is thinner but wonderful. Cooking time of 35 minutes is spot on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Love it! I made it in a glass pie dish and it turned out very good. It looked like a lot of brown sugar so I just measured it loose, maybe thats what I was supposed to do anyway but it worked very well. We have food allergies and I used featherlight flour mix from Gluten free gourmet cook books for flour sub and silk soy milk for the milk. It still came out so fluffy and delicious. I had to bake it about 15 minutes longer. I don't see where the margarine was a problem at all. I had to put our picture up to show. I just pigged out on a huge whole pineapple slice of it! Can't thank you enough diner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Like Mom's Pineapple Upside Down Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 513.9
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    24%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 101.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 308.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.4 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 72.9 g
    291%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes