29 Reviews

Absolutely delicious and really moist. I think cast iron is the best way to make these cakes -- they turn out so well. Will have to share with the neighbors or ration it out -- otherwise it will be gone in a flash.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration November 04, 2015

Great, moist and flavorful. I love pineapple upside cake and this was no exception. I was a little worried because the batter filled the pan to the top, and I was afraid the batter was going to overflow while cooking, but it turned out great. I had to cook it for an additional 15 minutes to get the center cooked through. Thanks for another wonderful recipe, diner524. Made for ZWT5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 31, 2009

This recipe has a great texture to it. I was going for a "Pina Colada" upside down cake, so I substituted the milk for coconut milk and even added some to the butter/sugar mixture. Next time I'll try it with coconut cream so that the flavor stands out more. My only complaint is that since no pan size was specified, I used 9x13. The cake was way too "thin"; I'll use 9x11 next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTL~cook January 26, 2016

Making this with my 9yo: Doubled the recipe. Used soymilk, melted butter, and a whole fresh pineapple (wait... Was I supposed to cut it up?? Lol!). Only used 1.5c brown sugar total. Added some allspice, powdered ginger, vanilla to the topping. This would be perfect with Rum extract for a 'Jamaican' taste. Baking it in a 13x9" pan. 350 for approximately 50-60 minutes. Smells pretty good, but it took too long to cook tonight. No problem- we're having it for breakfast tomorrow morning! 8)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derby DerbyDerb September 30, 2015

Just made this recipe to try out my new mini cake lodge cast iron pan fell in love I think more with the taste and moistness of this cake it taste great thank you for sharing and the mini cake pan also worked great :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katmm1129 September 17, 2015

Omg! This cake came out perfectly and it was delicious. My family devoured it so quickly I wish I had made two. This was the first time I baked a cake from scratch and the recipe was so easy and simple. I will definitely save this recipe and use it many times. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjpoet22381 January 22, 2014

My family was begging for a pineapple upside down cake and I am so glad I found your recipe! We loved it! The downside is I did over cook it a bit, but I know for next time to pull it out of my oven sooner. (Not a problem with your recipe, but my grumpy old oven!) Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAMuggle April 26, 2012

This is a great recipe! I took into account some of the other reviews and loosely packed the brown sugar for measuring and also only used 1 cup with the melted butter. I used crushed pineapple since that's all that was all I had. Instead of creaming butter and sugar, I mixed sugar and coconut oil. I find coconut oil is so good in baking; it adds a softness and hit of coconut flavor. I used mostly pineapple juice (added about 10% soymilk for richness). I don't have a mixer, so hand mixed everything together. I poured it all in a round cake pan (don't know if it is 8" or 9"), but the batter came almost to the top. Luckily it didn't spew out in the oven. I have a small convection oven, so I adjusted temp and baking time. Overall, wonderful cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoVols August 17, 2011

I loved this upside down cake. The directions are perfect. It is a beautiful cake and it ttasted terrific. I especially liked the fact that it didn't use packaged cake mix. I did put cherries in the center of the pineapple to give it a little color. Thanks for sharing a true keeper. Made for ZWT7-Pacific Islands.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 24, 2011

The flavor of the cake is good but personally there is too much brown sugar used on the bottom of the pan with the pineapple. I would suggest half the amount because a lot of the sugar were still stuck to the pan once I flipped the cake and were not dissolved. Over all, this cake tastes good but on the extreme sweet side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB December 29, 2010
Like Mom's Pineapple Upside Down Cake