51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I see quite a few reviewers eliminating or substituting the powdered milk. The powdered milk is used as a dough "conditioner", not for flavor. Substituting with liquid milk negates its purpose. Liisa, the recipe looks good and I will be making the rolls tonight...will post my review later. UPDATE - These are absolutely the BEST yeast rolls I've tried to date! Perfect texture, slightly sweet and you can actually TASTE the yeast!!! THANK YOU, Liisa!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soleilbb September 13, 2009

These are the best dinner rolls I've ever made and will be our standard rolls from now on. Not only are they the best but they are so easy to make! Thanks Liisa for sharing this wonderful bread recipe! We will be making these often!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ October 07, 2003

This are WONDEFUL rolls! My husband requested I quit trying other roll recipes and just use this one! I did substitute liquid milk for dry milk/water and the rolls were fabulous! I did cut back on the sugar just a tad (just under the 1/4 c mark) and brushed them with butter when they came out. MMMMM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meg091308 November 19, 2009

These are just what I was looking for to go with Christmas dinner! Just a basic roll, but soft and pillowy with a wonderful homemade taste. They were super easy to make and rose up high......no fuss at all. Perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraquarius December 26, 2008

This is it! What a fabulous bread recipe. I've tried many recipes and this one is my favorite sandwich bread. Very fluffy and has wonderful open texture. I followed the recipe with ingredients but made 8 sandwich size breads and did use the egg wash. This bread also keeps extremely well even after 6+ days in the refrigerator. The other recipes I've tried tasted ok immediately but usually became too hard to eat after 1 day. The only change I plan to make next time is add a bit more salt, but other than that this is my now my favorite sandwich bread recipe. This should work perfectly for hamburger buns as well as regular loaf. Thank you so much LiisaN for posting this all-time best recipe for us to share.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori May 13, 2008

Liisa===I had tried so many ABM recipes for dinner rolls and never could find one that was just right until I tried this one! I even entered them in our county fair and won Reserve Grand Champion!They freeze well,too. This is my only roll recipe now and I double it for holidays. Thanks for a winner roll recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn53 January 26, 2008

I don't know if I did something wrong or my tastes are different, but I (and my family) found these way to sweet for a dinner roll. The texture was nice and everything else was good though. Next time I will try adding 1/2 the sugar, if not less. It was a shame, we ended up throwing out half of it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrinV January 05, 2004

Great rolls, Liisa! These were so easy to make and turned out perfect! I put half of them in the freezer, but I don't think they'll be there too long! Next time I make them, I'll make larger ones to be used as hamburg buns! Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Liisa!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM November 12, 2003

im new to owning a bread maker so have made the basic bread so now to try these.. will update later x

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer M. January 28, 2014

I didn't have dry milk and didn't foresee a time I ever would, so I considered Soleibb's warning, but also noticed that those who had "subbed" liquid milk, still gave positive reviews, so I subbed anyway. Turned out to be...typical dinner rolls, pretty nice, but nothing I'd rave over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em March 05, 2013
Liisa's Dinner Rolls (ABM)