18 Reviews

I was quite surprised that it was so creamy and tastey considering there is NO cream or butter! My husband loved it and it is a great alternative to the artery killing original.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Pravitz September 18, 2003

This lowfat alfredo is fantastic, considering its low in fat! I only made one addition, and that was some garlic paste :-) I love garlic alfredo, so thats what I made. My sauce was a little too thick so I added just a tad more milk to it. It was so yummy! Definitely serve IMMEDIATELY!! :-) Thanks for the recipe Ginny! My family really enjoyed it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary June 21, 2003

This was soooo good. My husband thought this was better than full fat, regular alfredo. I did not use the egg (I'm funny about egg not cooking enough), but I did pour in some liquid margarine (I Cant Believe its Not Butter spray) I also added shrimp, peas and garlic powder. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cewrdh September 27, 2011

This fabulous recipe deserves many more stars than just five! I expected this recipe to be a decent version of alfredo, but like many lighter versions of heavy recipes, I was sure that this was going to be "missing something." NOT TRUE AT ALL! This is fantastic, and even better than some full fat versions of alfredo that I have tried. I used 1% cottage cheese and 2% milk, and I used 1/4 cup dried parsley instead of fresh, blending it in with the sauce. (I used a blender instead of a food processor.) I also added garlic powder, but I think fresh garlic blended in with the sauce would be great. Next time I would decrease the nutmeg to 1/8 tsp. Honestly, I thought I was going to have to add more parmesan cheese to the pasta, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that the 1/4 cup the recipe calls for was fine. My children loved this as well. In fact, at one point during dinner, my son said, "Why is it so quiet in here?" Our dinner table is never quiet, but it was quiet when I served this, because everyone was busy gobbling it up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen November 14, 2009

This is a lot of bang for your calorie buck. I did add some shrimp, mushrooms and diced tomatoes to the recipe. I will definately make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKRunning May 05, 2008

Very good, especially considering its missing those extra 90 or so grams of fat. We served it over capellini rather than fettucine and also added garlic. Very quick and easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie February 14, 2004

love4culinary, that's a great addition! Thanks, I will do that next time! : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP June 23, 2003

I agree with another reviewer that this pasta has a bitter/sour taste. Even the sauteed red peppers I added didn't help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper March 04, 2013

Very good. I used fat free ricotta cheese rather than cottage cheese. I also doubled the recipe. It was very good and very easy. I think I might like adding some peas &/or turkey bacon (or real bacon or pancetta if you dont mind the fat &/or pork) or steamed broccoli or spinach. I served this with a side of escarole which I wilted in oil and garlic then drizzled with balsamic vin. It was a very good meal and on the table in 30 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse January 13, 2008

I enjoyed this recipe, but my son didn't care for it much. It had too much parsley for him. I will try it again but without as much parsley. I did add some garlic and I used egg sub.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms.JaneDoe September 25, 2007
Lighthearted Fettuccine Alfredo