Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lighter Zucchini Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lighter Zucchini Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2010

      I LOVE this recipe. I don't know how anyone can say it's "flat and bland"! I cut extra sugar out of recipes as much as possible and also almost always substitute whole-meal flour in all baking to decrease sugar/calories/carbs and bump up the whole-grain/fiber content. So, I used half sugar and half Zylitol instead of all sugar (and I decided that I can probably cut the total down to a half-cup (instead of 3/4 c.) for 1 loaf. I also eliminated the vanilla. I love that this recipe has so little oil. My "tried & true" banana bread recipe uses a full stick of butter for one loaf! I also love that this turned out so moist; I didn't have to play the game of slightly undercooking it, which always left the top of the mid-section mushy (with my old recipe). And I found this to be wonderfully flavorful. THANKS for the new, improved, and healthier banana bread recipe for my book!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Followed the recipe exactly, but it did not taste good. Sorta flat and bland. Disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Wonderful!! Very tasty! I made this at the spur of the moment because I had some very overripe bananas. I used 1 1/2 cups of regular flour and 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour. My husband and I just had a warm piece of the bread and we both thought it was fabulous. It's definately going into my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Very moist and flavorful. My bananas were very ripe, so mine had a real banana flavor.........really good! Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Great tasting bread that used up my yellow squash. I'll be keeping this one close by, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Excellent, moist bread! I made a few changes: 1/2 cup applesauce with 1/2 cup oil, 2 cups flour 1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp vanilla, 1.5 cups banana 1.5 cups zucchini and 1 cup walnuts. I know I made a lot of changes, but same basic idea. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      I'm not going to mess with your great rating, but these muffins were just so-so for me. I didn't use the nuts and I halved it to get 10 muffins. It was missing something for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      I searched specifically for a recipe using both zucchini and banana, and this is the one I chose. I already knew that I prefer the oil and applesauce combination over using just oil. I did use 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour, 1 cup King Arthur white whole wheat flour, and ground 1/2 cup old fashion oatmeal up in my mini chopper for the 3 cups flour. I also used part splenda dn part sugar. My optional nuts were pecans. Delicious, healthy, perfect. Instead of making loaves, I made 24 muffins, baked for 25 minutes. It does NOT get any better or easier than this. Thanks for posting such a healthy, delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      it is soo good! definately better the day after. i knew it would be so I was going to wait, but I just wanted to try some. It wasn't that great yesterday, but I had some for breakfast today, and it was quite tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I like this recipe because it makes 2 loaves. It is so moist I always get compliments on this recipe. I use 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and I usually throw in some bran of some sort. 1 cup of carrots works in place of one of the 2 zucchini cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      This bread was pretty good! I made a few substitutions based on what I needed to use up. I used sweetened applesause to I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup and replaced it with 1/2 cup of skim milk powder. I also replaced a cup of flour with oat flour. Those changes may have contributed to the slightly dry texture. Next time I will try adding more banana as that might increase the moisture and flavour. I liked how healthy the bread was and the flavours worked well, so I will try it again! Made 1 large loaf and 2 mini loaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      I tripled this recipe and it came out wonderfully!!!! The only thing I would do different is make sure my bananas are mashed really good. Great flavor, moist and lower fat!!!! Excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Excellent! I used all Splenda instead of sugar. I used half wholewheat pastry flour and half all-purpose flour to add fiber and cut the sugar. I now have two lovely loaves of bread that smell and taste so-o-o good. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      July is here and so begins the onslaught of zucchini from my boss' garden. Decided to bring a loaf of this bread to the office and three people have now asked me for the recipe. My only change was that I reduced the oil to 1/8 cup (2 tablespoons) and replaced it with additional applesauce. The resulting bread is wonderfully moist and doesn't taste "healthy" as my co-workers call it. The small amount of oil and eggs and the additional sweetness of the banana works to give this that full fat feel. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lighter Zucchini Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.0
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    20%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 35.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 211.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites