20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You will not miss the butter in this curd recipe. I like this just as well as the recipe I use that calls for butter. I did not add the vanilla because I want to taste all that lemon goodness. This was the perfect amount to fit into the Gerber infant food container, the larger one of the two sizes. I'm sure it will be gone by tomorrow night. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J July 25, 2011

This is my first time making curd and I'm thrilled with the end result. It is delicious and I love that it is lower in fat because there is no butter in it. I used this to "save" some leftover lemon cake which was just a tad dry. This made it taste marvelous again. Thx so much **Mandy**!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word February 25, 2011

Fantastic!! Thanks heaps!! Supper Yummy & soooo easy to make :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bronzki October 30, 2009

Thank you for posting a lighter lemon curd! I get to indulge without the guilt!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wugfun January 23, 2009

I decied to try this recipe for my first attempt at lemon curd and lower calorie made even more appealing. Easy, tasty and glad can enjoy on tea breaks with scones. I made essential as written but used a natural cane sugar. Was initially concerned would turn out dark colored but remained with an acceptable lemony color. Like a previous reviewer I left out the vanilla. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goat mom January 22, 2012

Just what I was looking for! I had no idea how fattening lemon curd was until I started researching recipes. I thought this recipe turned out great. The directions were spot on. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 18, 2011

Yum! Butter is definitely not missed! I was making lemon-meringue cupcakes so instead of the egg, I used the 4 egg yolks left over from the meringue - I was afraid the curd would taste too "eggy" but it was perfect. I also lowered the sugar to 4 tbsp. Firmed up nicely, colour was beautiful, and lemon flavour was very present. I had just the right amount for 12 cupcakes.Thanks for the recipe Mandy :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie April 29, 2011

This lemon curd is amazing! I love that it's light but has tons of flavor. My family loves when I make crepes and make this to enjoy with them along with fresh berries. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. I think I am going to make it with an angel food cake tonight for dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megpeg76 January 04, 2011

I've used apple juice instead of lemon (I don't like lemon) and Orgran NoEgg substitute for two eggs and it turned out very, very tasty. So easy to put together and ready in a few minutes. Thanks for shareing this recipe:):)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zori November 19, 2009

Great taste and texture without all the fat. The lemon taste is perfect and this was very easy to do.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff May 04, 2008
Lighter Lemon - Lime Curd (No Butter)