19 Reviews

Fantastic Muffins! Best ever... with a few tweaks: I added nutmeg and walnuts. I used half brown sugar, and half white. All whole wheat flour. For extra moistness, I used 3/4 cup milk and the other 1/4 cup low fat sour cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laralynne October 02, 2009

I just made these muffins and they are absolutely delicious. I just followed the exact recipe with no changes. They are very healthy and I am glad I finally discovered a healthy recipe like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltcarter February 22, 2015

Mmmm so good! Even my dad liked them, who is adamantly against any "healthy" desserts. I spritzed a bit of PAM in the muffin liners so they wouldn't stick. Yummy and good for breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catlovesfood September 07, 2013

These were fantastic! I don't like raisins so I omitted them, I added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and used brown sugar and egg whites. I couldn't wait for the family to wake up this morning and try them. We will be adding these to our new "healthy" diet..Thank you so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of 3 hungry boys April 15, 2012

I gave this recipe 5 stars because of how healthy it is. If it wasn't a healthy recipe, I would be inclined to give it only 4 because it isn't as moist and sweet as the super unhealthy muffins, but because they're healthy, they get 5! :)
I'm very surprised at how well these turned out for how healthy they are! Excellent recipe. I also added nutmeg like many reviewers have mentioned. I don't like raisins, so I left those out, but they didn't seem to be missing a thing. I had a lot of batter left over, so I added a little flour to make them a little sturdier and made pancakes out of them. They were divine! I'll be keeping this recipe around.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoegirl21 August 01, 2011

I've made these so many times, and they are wonderful! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
readergirl January 06, 2010

These are truly delicious muffins! I used one whole banana instead of the applesauce. I also added a 1/4 t of nutmeg for a little more flavour. I ended up with 10 muffins instead of 12 somehow, and the bake time was 18 mins in my oven. DELICIOUS!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hockey.cupcake August 12, 2009

Added 1/2 c of flax seed meal and a banana. These were wonderful! Very moist and great flavor. Making a ton to freeze and keep for quick breakfasts on the go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slkHORN May 10, 2009

Delicious muffin, I ate 2 right away! I did half the recipe to get 6 perfectly domed muffins. I used 1/4 c. raisins and 1/4 c. eggbeaters for the 1/2 egg. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pardeemom July 22, 2008
Lighter, but Scrumptious Oatmeal Raisin Muffins :)