Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lightened up Gingerbread Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lightened up Gingerbread Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2012

      We did not like this recipe. It was spongy and had a total lack of ginger flavor. Will not make again. I also agree that the recommend baking time was too long. My cake was done after approximately 1/2 the time. I agree that it was totally rubbery texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

    • on January 13, 2012

      The recommended baking time was too long for my usually slow oven, so I will reduce the time when I make it again. The whole family liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Has a rubbery texture. The batter was so thin I baked it in a 8x8 pan to make it more cake-like, for 20 minutes. Taste was okay but not great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This is good warm. They are not too sweet but taste fine. My boys (ages 3 & 6) enjoyed them as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I loved this! Made it for Thanksgiving...it was perfect because it wasn't killer-sweet and was also relatively healthy. It was fabulous in the morning for a nice breakfast as well! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Nice cake recipe. I made mine in a 8x8 pan and it was done after 30 minutes, maybe sooner if I'd been paying attention! The only thing I changed is I used cloves instead of allspice (I'm not fond of allspice). It might be good with some chocolate chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      I love gingerbread and like this healthier version very much! I used half Splenda and half sugar (1/8th cup each). I baked it in an 8-inch round pan for 25 minutes, and it was done perfectly. I also added about a tbls. of chopped, crystallized ginger for added zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I love gingerbread, and this recipe is delicous and easy. I love that this recipe is so low fat. I'm the only gingerbread eater in my house, so I often freeze this in individual portions.It is delicious right out of the freezer or warmed up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Delicious! Just the right balance of sweet and spice, and also very quick and easy. Mine was done after about 25 minutes in the oven. I never would've guessed that it's low-fat. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Wow this is good! I've been craving gingerbread and came across this recipe and just had to try it - you can't even tell its low-fat! I used 1/8 cup Splenda and 1/8 cup sugar and was a little generous with the spices and it came out beautifully. I only had to cook mine for 25 minutes and it was perfect. Definitely good when warmed up - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Very Good! I upped the amount of spices (just the way I like it) but kept to the recipe other than that. I also added some minced candied ginger, though it really wasn't necessary because it was good on its own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      This is low in fat, low in sugar and has just the right amount of spices. It made a delicious quick dessert for tonight. Instead of the individual spices, I used my Baking Spice Blend Mix Baking Spice Blend Mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Mmmmm, love it. The spices are just right and it smells heavenly while baking. It didn't last long enough to be tried with ice-cream, that's for the next time I make it. Thanks for posting this low-fat gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      To be able to have a dessert that can have a touch of holidays is great. I always think of X-mas when I have ginger..anything! This will become a regular for that time of the year. AND we all know how calorie-laden all the treats are at that time of the year and now we have an alternative. I do recommend seeing to it that your spices are not too old or they will not shine through and the flavor will be lacking.I will be making this again, and, I think I will add some raisins too. Thanks, kind lady, for posting this jewel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lightened up Gingerbread Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (46 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.0
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    19%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 137.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    45%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites