Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lightened Scalloped Potatoes With Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lightened Scalloped Potatoes With Cheese

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2008

      I followed the recipe to the tee and it turned out as... potatoes cooked in milk. The cheese turned into gross, flavourless goo. It was still edible but it was not scalloped potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      It was great. Didn't have garlic on hand so I chopped up 1/2 onion and scattered them between the layers. Thank you, HeatherFeather! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Very good! especially for a lightened version, although I have to admit I did use 2% milk and old cheddar cheese, didn't have any gruyere in. Thanks for posting a keeper I can use at times other than New Year's dinner; it worked well with our little ham roast. I will do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I used mozzarella and cheddar cheese instead because I had it on hand. It still turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      These were sooo good!!! Comfort food at its finest. I sure couldn't tell these were slimmed down. Yummy!!! I had a very hard time resisting the urge to eat the whole pan, they are that delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Sooo good! I love the red potatoes, I didn't use any gruyere cheese (too expensive), so I used a mixture of 4 different cheeses. Thanks for the great lighter recipe! I don't feel so bad about going back for a second helping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Yumm! I made with butter. I normally enjoy with russet but the thinly sliced reds gave a nice texture. After rubbing the casserole with garlic I minced and added to the milk.I did double the pepper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      These potatoes were great. I loved the mild smooth cheese with the potatoes. I used skim milk and about double the amount of cheese. The potatoes needed more salt and pepper though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      This was very good - lovely mild garlic flavor with the gruyere (I did throw in the whole clove). But it is what it says it is, ie. it does taste "light". Don't be looking for a creamy consistency if you make this. We really liked it, but I think next time I'll follow Gay's lead and use whole milk and perhaps increase the cheese a tad. It scores real high on flavor and ease of preparation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      What a wonderful dish. Definitly a real hit. I did exactly as directed, but added 1/4-1/2t of garlic salt with the salt and pepper. I will have to experiement with some other cheeses too. Thank you for sharing HeatherFeather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Ok, I have to admit I Heavied" up this "Lightend" dish, but I LOVED it! I used whole milk instead of skim, more cheese, and I drizzled a little butter (never margarine, ew) over each of the layers. I was taking out a bit of insurance because I have never made a successful scalloped potatoes before (they always turned out undercooked and dry for me before). This went perfect. I doubled the recipe and it required doubling the cook time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      For a light dish these were really good. Very easy to make and tasty. I used 1% because it is what I had on hand, and a tiny bit more cheese. Very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      Delicious and GONE! My husband, daughter and myself wiped out the entire dish. I loved the gruyere cheese in this, it gave it kind of a nutty flavor that went perfect with the potatoes. I made this pretty much as written, though I used 1% milk, rather than skim since that's what I had on hand. Thanks Heather, it's a keeper for us :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lightened Scalloped Potatoes With Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.9
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    26%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 305.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites