13 Reviews

This turned out to be an excellent bread! and I can't wait to try to make some rolls with the dough! I was skeptical at first because it called for ounces of water . . . by the way the conversion for 11.5 oz. of water is 1 and 1/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons. and then it called for a "beaten" egg and "melted" butter . . the dough was really sticky and somewhat gooey when the cycle was complete (I baked the loaf in my oven) but I baked it anyhow and the bread turned out PERFECT! a recipe well worth it! Thank you soooooo much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlebrat Bon January 06, 2004

Mixed in ABM on dough cycle. Kneaded a little extra whole wheat pastry flour into the dough (too sticky), formed into rolls, and let rise for about 30 minutes. Added: 1 extra tsp. yeast and 1 extra Tablespoon sugar. Cooked at 375 for 15 minutes. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy V#2 October 07, 2009

I have made these several times, they turn out great every time. My kids hang around waiting for them to come out of the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finney January 05, 2008

I've made this recipe twice now...to raves...so must mark it with my review so as not to get it confused with other recipes. This is the only WW roll recipe I will use in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen Sr. June 20, 2007

Pretty good, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec February 08, 2007

This is a very good recipe. I tried it out on daughter and son-in-law last night. I am making again today for dinner club. Yesterday I used 1 cup wheat flour and 3 cups white flour. I just didn't think they would be "wheaty" enough. Today I am using the recipe as is, I believe I was wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
datadoll October 15, 2006

This bread is very good. Baked it the first time in the bread machine, rose over the top. Second time baked it in the oven, came out as a nice big loaf. It is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycuteboys October 05, 2006

These get 5stars for the smell of my house alone! So good and more importantly-easy! I made the dough in the ABM and baked it in the oven. The loaf was so tall and pretty. Well, not all that pretty...I don't know exactly how to knead dough, so it's kinda lopsided:) Tastes great though--broke out with the REAL butter for this bread. Thanks, its a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 April 08, 2006

This is delicious wheat bread. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. The loaf rose nice and high and the wheat flavor was mild enough that my kids didn't even notice. Everyone gobbled it right up. I did just use the dough cycle of my bread machine, took it out, let it rise again and baked it in the oven at 375 for 25 minutes. Delicious! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish January 29, 2006

Excellent bread -- and I really like that there is some whole wheat in the flour mixture to make it a bit healthier. I made and baked the bread in the bread machine, but next time I'll use the oven for baking and make rolls. This rose really high and were light and delicous! Will be having this again and again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ January 14, 2006
Light Wheat Bread or Rolls (ABM)