31 Reviews

I made this last night to go along with spaghetti and meatballs and it was enjoyed by all of my family. I loved the crunchy crust and the sweeter tender inside!! I had to use all bread flour, as someone in my house moved my whole wheat flour to the floor in the pantry and I was worried that maybe bugs would be in it! Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 March 08, 2010

Very good. I have been making beer bread for years but never with whole wheat flour. It turned out nicely. I substituted honey for the Splenda. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms February 27, 2010

Yummy! Perfect with our lentil soup last evening. I ended up using 1 cup whole wheat, 1 cup bread flour and 1 cup all purpose. Also omitted the butter on the top of the loaf (to save calories) and simply sprinkled it with some oats to make it look pretty! I prefer all my breads just slightly sweet and this did have a nice hint of sweet. I made mine with Bud Light (again, to save on a calorie or two) but I normally make mine with a nice unfiltered wheat! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 22, 2010

I used 2 cups of self-rising flour instead of all purpose and baking powder. not bad for three ingredients recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liliya_99 July 19, 2009

OUTSTANDING!! Made recipe as posted, using Samuel Adams Black Lager. GREAT GREAT taste, texture, and flavors.. and it was SO easy to prepare. Akeeper for us here. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker June 18, 2009

This is the best beer bread recipe I've tried so far. It has a lovely flavor. It is a good solid bread but not too dense. I used Killian's Irish Red beer, all sugar and light butter. I served it with stew. I usually like to let the dough set on the counter for about 15 minutes so it can rise a little before baking, but I didn't have time with this recipe. That's why I was so thrilled with how much it rose and how light it was compared to other recipes I have tried. I'll be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) March 13, 2009

We loved it. My grandpa used to make beer bread all of the time; it brought me back to grandpa's house. It's so nice to have an easy bread recipe that tastes like a yeast bread. Thanks for a recipe that will go in my keeper file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newmsy March 08, 2009

A miracle happened...I actually made the recipe exactly as written! And the best part? It was FABULOUS! I've never had beer bread before and my husband can't stand the taste or smell of beer. This bread is TO DIE FOR! So yummy and a little more guilt-free because of the good things that are in it. I used Corona beer. I thought there was a slight beer taste to it but DH couldn't tell...so I guess that's good. I will definitely be making this again, and again, and again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Mo January 29, 2009

This is really good beer bread. It was my DH's first experience with beer bread and he LOVED it! I used a Bud Light beer. The butter on top made it a little crispier. So good. Too bad it got left out to get hard on the counter :( But, I guess that means we get to make it again! ;) Made and reviewed for I Recommend tag Game - Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ November 02, 2008

I like beer bread, so easy and with good flavour and texture. This was made even better, by using whole wheat flour, we loved it. I didn't use the splenda, I used three generous tablespoons of brown sugar. I used a 340 ml bottle of Hansa Pilsner beer - just happened to have it in the pantry! Thanks for a great recipe, Brooke! Made for Vegetarian swap, October 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth October 13, 2008
Light Wheat Beer Bread