Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Light Wheat Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Light Wheat Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2008

      I made another beer bread recipe from this site that does not hold a candle to this one, I only wished I would have tryed this one first, this has texture and taste and is one I will make again soon, forgot to mention I used sugar in place of the Splenda and increased to 3 tablespoons, thanks for sharing Brooke!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      I used 4 packets of Sun Crystals instead of sugar or Splenda and used a bottle of Shiner Bock Ryes and Shine then topped it with a 1/2 cup melted Falfurrias Texas butter!!!. It is still baking,but I know it will be awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      really delish!! my only personal tweeks were to add ground flax into the mix and sub Earth Balance for butter while dusting the top with my bread topping crumbles of ground oats,flax and sea salt...the bread was sweet, soft, yet crusty. Truly the perfect bread for anything...truly a great recipe!!! -THANKS!!! (made for "I Recommend Tag" and I recommend you make this right now!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      This turned out wonderfully. Unfortunately, an hour was too long in my oven, and I didn't check on it until the timer went off so the crust is a bit burnt, but the inside is just delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Perfect light bread, i made it in my bread machine and we loved it! Thanks for sharing, ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Wow, fantastic! Good for a baker beginner, like me (no rising, no kneading). I actually added baking soda instead of baking powder by accident, tried removing it, but was less than successful. Then I added the baking powder instead. I used regular Corona beer, added 1 tablespoon honey, no sugar and substituted Splenda for the rest of the sugar. Was quite light and very tasty. Thanks so much Brooke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Who woulda thought - healthy beer bread? This was really good and easy to whip together. I loved the crunchy crust. Thanks for posting Brooke. Made for the Zwizzle Chicks for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Quite the surprise recipe! It comes together in a snap and is just delicious. I loved the hint of sweetness and the light crunch of the crust. We really thought this got better as it cooled, maybe 30-45 minutes. 5 stars from the entire family. Made for German/ Benelux region ZWT 6. Edited to add- We had 3 thick slices leftover and made toast out of it this morning- Amazing! Crisp on the outside and almost creamy on the inside. Topped with 2 year sharp cheddar- Great breakfast bread too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Came together quickly and came out great. made for Queens of Quisine ZWT 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Made this last night, fabulous!! Gave the receipe to my boss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I made this last night to go along with spaghetti and meatballs and it was enjoyed by all of my family. I loved the crunchy crust and the sweeter tender inside!! I had to use all bread flour, as someone in my house moved my whole wheat flour to the floor in the pantry and I was worried that maybe bugs would be in it! Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Very good. I have been making beer bread for years but never with whole wheat flour. It turned out nicely. I substituted honey for the Splenda. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Yummy! Perfect with our lentil soup last evening. I ended up using 1 cup whole wheat, 1 cup bread flour and 1 cup all purpose. Also omitted the butter on the top of the loaf (to save calories) and simply sprinkled it with some oats to make it look pretty! I prefer all my breads just slightly sweet and this did have a nice hint of sweet. I made mine with Bud Light (again, to save on a calorie or two) but I normally make mine with a nice unfiltered wheat! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      I used 2 cups of self-rising flour instead of all purpose and baking powder. not bad for three ingredients recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      OUTSTANDING!! Made recipe as posted, using Samuel Adams Black Lager. GREAT GREAT taste, texture, and flavors.. and it was SO easy to prepare. Akeeper for us here. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This is the best beer bread recipe I've tried so far. It has a lovely flavor. It is a good solid bread but not too dense. I used Killian's Irish Red beer, all sugar and light butter. I served it with stew. I usually like to let the dough set on the counter for about 15 minutes so it can rise a little before baking, but I didn't have time with this recipe. That's why I was so thrilled with how much it rose and how light it was compared to other recipes I have tried. I'll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      We loved it. My grandpa used to make beer bread all of the time; it brought me back to grandpa's house. It's so nice to have an easy bread recipe that tastes like a yeast bread. Thanks for a recipe that will go in my keeper file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      A miracle happened...I actually made the recipe exactly as written! And the best part? It was FABULOUS! I've never had beer bread before and my husband can't stand the taste or smell of beer. This bread is TO DIE FOR! So yummy and a little more guilt-free because of the good things that are in it. I used Corona beer. I thought there was a slight beer taste to it but DH couldn't tell...so I guess that's good. I will definitely be making this again, and again, and again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This is really good beer bread. It was my DH's first experience with beer bread and he LOVED it! I used a Bud Light beer. The butter on top made it a little crispier. So good. Too bad it got left out to get hard on the counter :( But, I guess that means we get to make it again! ;) Made and reviewed for I Recommend tag Game - Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I like beer bread, so easy and with good flavour and texture. This was made even better, by using whole wheat flour, we loved it. I didn't use the splenda, I used three generous tablespoons of brown sugar. I used a 340 ml bottle of Hansa Pilsner beer - just happened to have it in the pantry! Thanks for a great recipe, Brooke! Made for Vegetarian swap, October 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Light Wheat Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    18%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 429.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes