Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Light Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Light Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2003

      Using chicken boullion instead of a cream sauce is a wonderful idea. Thank you. I added thinly sliced onions and chopped garlic to the middle of the potatoes and sprinkled on some parsley. It made a wonderful dish that was low fat and calories. To speed up the cooking time, I microwaved it first for 10 mins on high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      This was terrifically easy and yummy. I had my doubts as to lightening up a classic like this, but the starch from the potatoes made a nice sauce that oozed out from between the layers, and was even better the next day. I used low sodium chicken stock and corrected the seasoning with a bbq spice rub I always have around and some fresh ground pepper. Oh, and I didn't peel my potatoes. If you do not know the value of a mandolin (a slicing plane used in Asian kitchens, but readily available here), you would if you also had this in the oven in less than 5 minutes. Thanks for a super lightened-up recipe for comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      I wish i could give this even more then a five star rating,i made some minor changes when i made this dish.I used beef broth instead of just water,I didnt have any chicken boullion in the house so i threw one beef boullion cube into the pot as i was heating it to pour over the potatoes I also thinly sliced an onion to layer in with the potatoes.My partner HATES scalloped potatoes in the traditional white sauce,she really liked this though.Personally I thought they were absolutely AWESOME! Thank you so much for posting this recipe MizzNezz,im sure i will make this dish often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This was wonderful! I also took from the other review that used low-fat stock., and added a cajun seasoning. Also 1/2 way through I sorta tossed the potatoes and added another dose of parm. Sure it would have been great without though. I can't express how nice it is to have a low-fat version of this, mostly b/c I am lactose intolerant and can only have small amounts of dairy, the parm is just the right amount. without all the heavy creams and/or milks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was gorgeous. I had to drain the pots 5 mins before serving but the taste and texture was lovely. Definitely one for the future as I love dauphinoise but never seem to have cream on hand

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      We had high hopes for this but it didn't work out as we had hoped. Although I followed the recipe exactly, the potatoes were left swimming in the chicken broth; we had to drain them to serve. Perhaps due to the excessive liquid, the flavor was also very diluted. It has a lot of potential, though, and we are planning on trying it again with some modifications. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      Don't tell them this is low fat! This was different than the cream sauce that I usualy make it with. The only thing I added was onions and garlic to it. Excellant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      Twenty-five stars. My idea of perfect comfort food. It was a hot summer evening so I "baked" this on the grill at medium heat. I added a couple of spicy chicken sausages but otherwise didn't change the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Light Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.1
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    12%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 638.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes