Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Light Macaroni and Cheese with Spinach Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Light Macaroni and Cheese with Spinach

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2009

      I was on a soft food diet as a result of a dental injury this Thanksgiving. I chose to make this as a side dish for the family and as a main course for me, and it was a hit all around. Many baked mac & cheese recipes can be rather bland, but the extra sharp cheddar makes it quite flavorful. Despite the "light" in its name, I was a little concerned about the fat content ( 52% DV saturated fat - ouch!) , so I used skim milk and non-fat cottage cheese and it was still extremely rich and tasty. I also used whole wheat pasta and fresh rather than frozen spinach. I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 13"x9" casserole dish - perfect! This is one of those dishes that tastes even better as next-day leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      This was great! It definitely didn't taste like a "light" macaroni & cheese. I made a couple adjustments - I just stirred in some fresh spinach to the cheese sauce before tossing with the macaroni, I added some garlic powder with the salt & pepper, and I used a mix of parmesan cheese & bread crumbs on the top. I loved the crunchy top layer! I think the key to this is seasoning the cheese sauce really well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      We don't usually eat dairy products in our family, so when we spurlge, the recipe had better be a good one! This recipe fits the bill. It was simple to prepare, and was promptly devoured by the family. Although I don't think any dairy based recipe can be truly healthy, this recipe was about as healthy as you can get with mac and cheese. The nutmeg was an especially tasty addition. We'll make this again, the next time we want to indulge ourselves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      This recipe turned out to be quite tasty--and yes cream and cheesy--as well as easy to make. I used whole wheat pasta and it *still* tasted great! My toddler loved it. (and he ate the spinach too!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      Really good for low fat recipe. Would like to try with fresh spinach. Both children ate two servings. Will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      Made a batch for my veggie-phobic daughter without spinach, but otherwise, the whole family loved this mac and cheese. It's going into the regular rotation, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

    • on October 29, 2009

      Very, very good. I like that the cheese sauce was easy to make and thickened very nicely. Spinach is yucky, so I used peas and cubed ham in its place. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Mac & Cheese isn't something we eat a whole bunch of...but we were all in the mood for some comfort food this rainy cold night, and this fit the bill. These are pretty much things we always have on hand, and it's very straight forward to make. I find it a lot of pots and pans/dishes for one quick dinner so I would recommend doubling the recipe and freezing some. One typical package of macaroni (catelli) is 12 oz, so I made the recipe plus 50%. Thanks for another one Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Doesn't taste light to me. Really good and loved by all. I also added the spinach right in without cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This was good mac&cheese!! :) Didn't taste light at all! Didn't cook the spinach, just added it to the mix and cooked it with the pasta in the oven! Thanks Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This was super yummy and easy to make. Love the wheat germ on top - who needs bread crumbs! My toddler also loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I have been looking for a lighter recipe for my most favorite comfort food and this one tastes awsome! I love the different variations and the ideas for adding veggies. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I made this a long time ago and hadn't reviewed it. I pulled it up from my "tried" file in order to make it again when I realized that I hadn't reviewed. That said, my roommate and I enjoyed this dish very much. We are both on diets and love mac and cheese too much! I didn't use spinach the first time, but the second time, I added some fresh spinach and thinly sliced chicken in the center. It was a hit all around! Thanks for the good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      What a treat. Dh even liked the mystery wheat germ topping. I had kale in the garden so I used that in place of the spinach and loved it. I used the regular recipe and added jalapeno, cayenne and cilantro. I know it's a bit mixed up but we thought it tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      This was very easy to make. I served it as a side dish with baked salmon. The idea of putting spinach in the middle was fantastic. I made it in a round disposable aluminum tray and cut protions like a pie. In this way you could see the stripe of spinach running through the center. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Light Macaroni and Cheese with Spinach

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.5
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    36%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 53.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 664.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites