Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Light Cranberry Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Light Cranberry Bars

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2009

      Fantastic, easy to put together and in no way taste "light." I'll share this one at my WW meeting for sure, but my non WW family loves them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Boy are these addictive. I used fresh cranberries, and cut the recipe in half using an 8x8 pan, wished I hadn't. Subsituted the walnuts for pecans. Had a tough time baking these though, with it being my oven. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I tried these this morning and they didn't turned out as well as I had hoped. I LOVED the full fat version of Bonnie Young 's recipe and maybe thats the problem. These were much flatter, at least mine were, seem to have a different texture- more like a dense muffin and not as sweet as the full fat version. They tasted good with coffee but I think I will stick to the richer version

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      These are addictive and well worth looking at three different grocery stores for cranberries in Texas in July! :) I used 1/2 c. regular sugar instead of Splenda (which probably goes towards defeating the purpose of these *grins*). As I was assembling the batter I wasn't sure of it at all, as it did come together the way I am used to, with too little butter to actually cream in the large amount of sugars, and then only using egg whites is unusual for me. But the result speaks for itself: a fluffy light cakelike pan of numminess. :) Thank you for posting, made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      A wonderful healthy snack that pleases everyone. I used dried cranberries that had been simmered in 1/2 cup berry juice for 15 minutes. After the berries were done I also added the leftover juice that wasn't absorbed by them & 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Great Recipe! Made for Zingo ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      I have just tried this warm out of the oven and it tastes great and smells fabulous . Due to lack of cranberries in Australia I have used dried apricots and I used cashews as my choice of nuts - I am going back now for a second serve - I wish I had some whipped cream to turn it into a very special treat. Made for Zingo, ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Don't know how thes managed to slip by me without my noticing, but not this time around! Even had to go buy some baby foor, though another time I want to try just mashing up some canned pears (not as pureed, but what the hey)! VERY DELICIOUS & SATISFYING! Great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Recipe Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      What a lovely recipe! I buy fresh cranberries around the holidays and freeze them for just such occasions. DH loved these and had no idea that they were low fat and low sugar. It can be our secret. ;-) I followed along with the recipe pretty much. My tweaks were to use Smart Balance rather than the butter and orange extract instead of vanilla. I also omitted the nuts. Making only 1/2 the recipe, I baked it in an 8-inch square pan for 18 minutes. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      We liked these a LOT! The cranberries keep the bars from being overly sweet, and if someone wanted sweeter, they sprinkled with powdered sugar. I found the texture to be like a muffin, and the less sweet taste seemed to back that up. Not really dessert-ish for us, but great for breakfast!!! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Yummy. They are like a cross between a bar cookie and a cake. Mine were not as cake-y as the ones in the photo (they also didn't ooze, maybe because the cranberries were fresh?). I used macadamias for the nuts, and doubled them. I also used applesauce instead of pear baby food, since I had that readily available. I subbed smart balance, and decreased the sugar by 2 tablespoons. Made half a recipe in an 8x8 pan, and it worked just fine (baked for 38 minutes). Serving size is right on, but almost everyone went back for seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      well these are my dinner and oh so yummy (i didnt feel like cooking tonight and made these this aft). I lvoe the tartness mixed with the sweet. Also used all splenda, but 1/4 cup was splenda brown sugar blend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      A great low-fat/low-sugar bar. The cranberries were frozen and prune baby food was used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Very tasty! I used more Splenda and less sugar for dietary reasons, but turned out great. Going to try with prune puree for a dark bar next time. Thanks for re-doing the original recipe to make it healthier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      I tried and tried, but couldn't find even frozen cranberries anywhere. Instead I used frozen cherries with great results. This recipe is one of the best light recipes I have come across. Will make again when I finally find cranberries and update the review although the cherries were very nice. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Light Cranberry Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.3
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    27%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 52.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Splenda granular

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites