14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic, easy to put together and in no way taste "light." I'll share this one at my WW meeting for sure, but my non WW family loves them too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan December 14, 2009

Boy are these addictive. I used fresh cranberries, and cut the recipe in half using an 8x8 pan, wished I hadn't. Subsituted the walnuts for pecans. Had a tough time baking these though, with it being my oven. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker July 10, 2009

I tried these this morning and they didn't turned out as well as I had hoped. I LOVED the full fat version of Bonnie Young 's recipe and maybe thats the problem. These were much flatter, at least mine were, seem to have a different texture- more like a dense muffin and not as sweet as the full fat version. They tasted good with coffee but I think I will stick to the richer version

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiec December 16, 2008

These are addictive and well worth looking at three different grocery stores for cranberries in Texas in July! :) I used 1/2 c. regular sugar instead of Splenda (which probably goes towards defeating the purpose of these *grins*). As I was assembling the batter I wasn't sure of it at all, as it did come together the way I am used to, with too little butter to actually cream in the large amount of sugars, and then only using egg whites is unusual for me. But the result speaks for itself: a fluffy light cakelike pan of numminess. :) Thank you for posting, made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout July 11, 2008

A wonderful healthy snack that pleases everyone. I used dried cranberries that had been simmered in 1/2 cup berry juice for 15 minutes. After the berries were done I also added the leftover juice that wasn't absorbed by them & 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Great Recipe! Made for Zingo ZWT 4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh July 08, 2008

I have just tried this warm out of the oven and it tastes great and smells fabulous . Due to lack of cranberries in Australia I have used dried apricots and I used cashews as my choice of nuts - I am going back now for a second serve - I wish I had some whipped cream to turn it into a very special treat. Made for Zingo, ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew July 03, 2008

Don't know how thes managed to slip by me without my noticing, but not this time around! Even had to go buy some baby foor, though another time I want to try just mashing up some canned pears (not as pureed, but what the hey)! VERY DELICIOUS & SATISFYING! Great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Recipe Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 26, 2008

What a lovely recipe! I buy fresh cranberries around the holidays and freeze them for just such occasions. DH loved these and had no idea that they were low fat and low sugar. It can be our secret. ;-) I followed along with the recipe pretty much. My tweaks were to use Smart Balance rather than the butter and orange extract instead of vanilla. I also omitted the nuts. Making only 1/2 the recipe, I baked it in an 8-inch square pan for 18 minutes. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie June 10, 2008

We liked these a LOT! The cranberries keep the bars from being overly sweet, and if someone wanted sweeter, they sprinkled with powdered sugar. I found the texture to be like a muffin, and the less sweet taste seemed to back that up. Not really dessert-ish for us, but great for breakfast!!! Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

Yummy. They are like a cross between a bar cookie and a cake. Mine were not as cake-y as the ones in the photo (they also didn't ooze, maybe because the cranberries were fresh?). I used macadamias for the nuts, and doubled them. I also used applesauce instead of pear baby food, since I had that readily available. I subbed smart balance, and decreased the sugar by 2 tablespoons. Made half a recipe in an 8x8 pan, and it worked just fine (baked for 38 minutes). Serving size is right on, but almost everyone went back for seconds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 25, 2007
Light Cranberry Bars