11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my - are these bars ever delicious, totally addictive! I didn't have baby food and used all butter - thanks for the tip on not using apple sauce, which I would have done had you not mentioned not to do it. I only used 3/4 cup of chocolate chips which made up for the extra butter.The whole wheat adds an extra layer of texture and flavour to these bites of heaven. I just know that these will be made over and over, thank you so much for sharing! Made for Holiday Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 21, 2010

Mmmmm. Super easy to make and what an outcome! I don't have any little ones in the house, so I don't keep baby food on hand. I ended up using 8 T of margarine instead. I also didn't use 4 egg whites, but 2 eggs as I was running out and payday is still a couple days away. I know it affects the calorie count - but lets face it - it's an indulgence as it is. The dough was super easy to spread out in the pan as the consistency was just between cake batter and cookie dough. Thanks so much for posting! Made for 123 Tag Game. Now it can get moved to Gimme 5!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom January 12, 2009

these are so so so good!! i think they have a gooey consistency like the real thing. i used chopped dark and milk chocolate instead of chips and mixed it all in before baking. i didn't have any trouble with the dough consistency or with spreading it in the pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet tooth 23 July 07, 2008

_THE BEST CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES that I ever had . thank you . will make again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker June 15, 2008

I'm not posting a review as there may have been some chef error involved. I prepared these as stated, even getting the pear baby food as instructed. Melted the butter and added the brown sugar, then the flour and vanilla. Added the eggs last so as not to have problems mixing cold eggs with hot butter. I found the eggs were a little hard to mix in and did need a vigorous hand mixing. My batter was sticky and more like a cake batter than a cookie dough. Poured it into the pan and spread evenly into the pan, because of the softness of the dough I swirled the chips in as patting was not an option. My cookies were lovely and the taste was great but not as the chef described. They were tender and cake-like with a great flavor from the brown sugar. Having the chocolate on the top gave them the illusion of having more chocolate than there really was. Really good and will be a well come addition at a potluck dinner party tomorrow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 25, 2008

These are tasty and easy to make. Thanks for posting the recipe, it's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan August 20, 2011

Just made these this afternoon and they are awesome! Even my picky teenage daughter thought they were great. Finally a light cookie bar recipe that I can keep!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mustangsallie73 November 30, 2010

Terrific!!! I loved how these bars tasted and the texture was just so nice and soft. Lots of chocolate chips too which is a big bonus! I used it as a birthday treat for myself in place of cake! I was fun buying baby food again (have not done that in a while). I did get fewer bars but that is because we cut them into bigger servings! Just perfect and I will be making these again! Tagged in the Zaar Stars tag game! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom May 22, 2009

Juat as described, quick and light and better for you :) I followed the recipe exactly but used half chocolate chips and half peanut butter chips, everything came out delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean February 03, 2009

Oh yum. The kids and I just made these together and just enjoyed them hot from the oven with milk. I made as directed except I used 2 Tablespoons of unsweet applesauce cause I didn't have any baby food (passed that stage). Loved these. Thanks for a healthier choc. chip cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko February 03, 2009
Light Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars