Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Light Carrot Cocoa Snack Cake --(Brownies) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Light Carrot Cocoa Snack Cake --(Brownies)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2003

      This has a lovely light flavour and texture. Very enjoyable and quick and easy to make too! I liked the colour of the carrots through the brownie and the recipe cooked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      I had a pile of carrots so I decided to try this out. After reading the other reviews, I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp, doubled the cocoa powder, and reduced the flower by 1/4 cup. This resulted in a much more brownie-like texture. The chocolate flavor was VERY strong though, so some might prefer a smaller proportion or a bit more sugar to get the more usual "brownie chocolate" taste. Like many chocolate cakes, the flavor improves after a day or so. I'll be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      These were AMAZING. I can't believe they were basically fat-free (I used fat-free soy milk)! They certainly were not like what I expected from a brownie, in fact they wre more like a cake...a very moist, light cake. I agree, the colour of the carrots is interesting...and I should have listened to the other reviewers and added more cocoa. But these are definitely being made again to satisfy any chocolate cake cravings!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      These were good, but I feel they needed more of a chocolate flavor. Loved the texture (very cakey) and love the fact that you can't taste the carrots at all. I will make these again, but I may try to increase the cocoa a bit to get more of a chocolate taste. These needed 30 minutes in my oven. I added a handful of chopped pecan also. Thanks for sharing this healthy alternative!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Pretty good although not the best cake or brownies I have ever had. I did add some chocolate chips and used chocolate soy milk instead. Not sure if that had a good or bad effect on the original recipe. Also, I used an 11 x 7 pan instead which worked just fine. I love that it is healthier though, and my son and I had a good time making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      I am so impressed on how good they came out. This cake was so moist and held its form all day. For a little extra I put in a few mini chocolate bits on top but not much. Looking forward to making this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Tasty, easy to make, moist and not too evil! It wasn't very chocolatey though but it didn't really matter, we served it with strawberry sauce for some zing (recipe 103421). Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Great Recipe! This was very easy make and was almost guilt free. I used 100% whole wheat flour and soy milk instead of skim milk and still got great results! Thanks Kasha for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      A tasty and almost guilt free dessert. I also added more of the cocoa to it. The texture is great and it's nice and fluffy. I also really like the carots and am really happy that there is no oil in there. Thanks for the recipe, would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I halved the recipe and made it in a 8x4 loaf pan. I took the advice of other reviewers and added more cocoa and a little extra sugar, and cut the baking powder. The carrots offer a little crunch but no flavor (which is good for me!). Also, I added some milk chocolate chips and they are definitely the best part :) It still came out a little cakey but satisfying and healthy. I wish I could give it 4.5 stars, but I have to round down in this case. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

    • on March 15, 2007

      I was so excited to find a healthy, highly rated snack that I could make for the twins. I followed the recipe to the letter, and it was beautiful. However, this was not at all the taste sensation I expected. In fact, it was, as my son said, "repulsive!" I'm sure others will like it, but it's not for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      Excellent cake and very dense. I put some fat free cool whip on it for a topping. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      THis was really nice, especially for such a healthy cake. It's not very sweet, and very light tasting. But in a good way! We served it with a pretty sprinkle of powdered sugar on top, and it was just perfect. And guilt free!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      This sounded Like a weird brownie recipe. But after trying it, I take back my words! It was chewy and delcious! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      It may have defeated some of the lowfat purpose, but I added some chocolate chips and they were delicious. They'll satisfy you if you want some chocolate but they're not quite like regular brownies. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      These have a great texture but are missing something slightly in terms of taste. I found that they did not have enough of a chocolatey taste and were not quite sweet enough. Next time I may add some splenda along with all the sugar. But these have a ton of potential. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Light Carrot Cocoa Snack Cake --(Brownies)

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    87%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 101.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites