17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This has a lovely light flavour and texture. Very enjoyable and quick and easy to make too! I liked the colour of the carrots through the brownie and the recipe cooked perfectly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! July 06, 2003

I had a pile of carrots so I decided to try this out. After reading the other reviews, I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp, doubled the cocoa powder, and reduced the flower by 1/4 cup. This resulted in a much more brownie-like texture. The chocolate flavor was VERY strong though, so some might prefer a smaller proportion or a bit more sugar to get the more usual "brownie chocolate" taste. Like many chocolate cakes, the flavor improves after a day or so. I'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Z May 12, 2007

These were AMAZING. I can't believe they were basically fat-free (I used fat-free soy milk)! They certainly were not like what I expected from a brownie, in fact they wre more like a cake...a very moist, light cake. I agree, the colour of the carrots is interesting...and I should have listened to the other reviewers and added more cocoa. But these are definitely being made again to satisfy any chocolate cake cravings!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melting pot September 15, 2005

These were good, but I feel they needed more of a chocolate flavor. Loved the texture (very cakey) and love the fact that you can't taste the carrots at all. I will make these again, but I may try to increase the cocoa a bit to get more of a chocolate taste. These needed 30 minutes in my oven. I added a handful of chopped pecan also. Thanks for sharing this healthy alternative!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= October 26, 2003

Pretty good although not the best cake or brownies I have ever had. I did add some chocolate chips and used chocolate soy milk instead. Not sure if that had a good or bad effect on the original recipe. Also, I used an 11 x 7 pan instead which worked just fine. I love that it is healthier though, and my son and I had a good time making it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alecia Pearl March 10, 2012

I am so impressed on how good they came out. This cake was so moist and held its form all day. For a little extra I put in a few mini chocolate bits on top but not much. Looking forward to making this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE September 30, 2008

Tasty, easy to make, moist and not too evil! It wasn't very chocolatey though but it didn't really matter, we served it with strawberry sauce for some zing (recipe 103421). Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimensionally transcendental September 26, 2008

Great Recipe! This was very easy make and was almost guilt free. I used 100% whole wheat flour and soy milk instead of skim milk and still got great results! Thanks Kasha for this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Collegegal Baker February 12, 2008

A tasty and almost guilt free dessert. I also added more of the cocoa to it. The texture is great and it's nice and fluffy. I also really like the carots and am really happy that there is no oil in there. Thanks for the recipe, would make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker August 25, 2007

I halved the recipe and made it in a 8x4 loaf pan. I took the advice of other reviewers and added more cocoa and a little extra sugar, and cut the baking powder. The carrots offer a little crunch but no flavor (which is good for me!). Also, I added some milk chocolate chips and they are definitely the best part :) It still came out a little cakey but satisfying and healthy. I wish I could give it 4.5 stars, but I have to round down in this case. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev August 08, 2007
Light Carrot Cocoa Snack Cake --(Brownies)