Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Light-As-A-Feather Dumplings (For Soup or Stews) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Light-As-A-Feather Dumplings (For Soup or Stews)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2007

      I made a half batch (though used a whole egg) and it was very easy to put together. Instead of dropping by the teaspoon I wet my hands and rolled out small balls and dropped into the chicken and vegetable soup (got 14 and it was more than enough for 3 of us). I think this recipe would be really great with a spicy dish though for something like I did I would possibly add some fresh chopped herbs or dried herbs to the flour. Thank you Kittencall, will definately be trying this again with the herbs. Made for 123 Hit Wonders 2007.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Delish! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I've been using this dumpling recipe for 30 years - it is absolutely fool proof and fabulous - even the kids like it. Remember, never lift the lid once you drop the dumplings in.

      I've tried several and this one is the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      I didn't really like these too much, but maybe I am just not a dumpling kinda gal! I think that the soup you make it in needs to have A LOT of broth. Mine didn't have all that much and the dumplings took over the entire pot of soup! I probably wont make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Growing up, my Mom alternated between these and traditional dumplings. These are the ones I make cause they're so easy and seemingly foolproof. Oh, yeah, and they're delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      I love these! they're so easy to make and i don't need veg suet, yay! (a thing i only ever used for dumplings, so it woud hang around until after it's sell-by). I use them in my favourite veggie sausage casserole, i don't need to put on any tatties either as they make up enough carbs (between 2). they do expand and go lovely and crisp on top (as long as you stick to the "no peeking" rule) they have a light doughy texture and i like to add paprika and mixed herbs to mine. Amazing, thanx Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      We liked the soft texture of these dumplings. I used them in Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings. I made the recipe one hour prior to adding to the steam. I did an an additional 1/4c more of Half & Half to have a semi-stiff batter. Thank you Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      These were very close to the texture I am looking for in a dumpling. The flavor was excellent, but they just kinda melted/disolved in your mouth instead of having a nice bread like texture that I'm looking for. Thanks Kitz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Light-As-A-Feather Dumplings (For Soup or Stews)

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.2
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    24%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 72.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 929.6 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites