9 Reviews

I am not a real fan of vinegar but I made this today and I really like it. I don't really like cucumber either but it was half price in the supermarket and I can't walk past a barging! I am very glad that I tried this recipie Thankyou

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berniceg11perlas June 06, 2015

Very good cucumbers that can be eaten all by themselves and enjoyed! I used an english cucumber and sugar instead of Splenda (allergic to Splenda). Did add an extra shake of dill and used minced garlic then refrigerated overnight. The next day we couldnt stop tasting them, the sweet and tart flavor with a bit of garlic in the bite, so good. I dont have a mandolin to slice the cucumbers thin but a sharp knife will work out well. Made and reviewed for the Diabetic Forums "Come to a Garden Party" Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 02, 2012

I took these to a potluck yesterday. The recipe was quick & easy. I got a lot of compliments for doing minimal work. When I got home I ate the leftovers. Next week I plan on taking another batch to work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akh1234 June 09, 2010

I had to pretty much ballpark the measurements because I only had about 1/2 a cucumber left and just wanted something to go with a sandwich for lunch. I made it overnight as suggested, I just put enough vinegar in to coat them (used about 1-2 tsp sugar) and added a dash of thyme and black pepper in addition to the dill for some extra zing. They were very refreshing! Recipenap for Veggie Swap 20.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule March 04, 2010

I need more than five stars for these cucumbers. I am munching on a plate of them as I type this. I am on Weight Watchers and I really need zero points foods so I turn to cucumbers a lot but get bored easily with with them. Not the case here!!!! So perfect I love the sweet and sour and the dill just peeks in. Mmmmm. Perfection. I think in the summer I will add some Vidalia onion slices to this!!! Thanks so much for this super easy super delicious recipe Sarah Jayne! [Made as a recipenap in the Veg'n Swap March 2010!]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ March 02, 2010

Really nice and light addition to dinner tonight!I loved the flavour of the marinade but would probably make half next time. I used 1 long English cucumber. Made for Went to the Market tag. Thanks Sarah_Jayne! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif January 24, 2010

Just made this and loved it! Was so easy! If it gets better after marinating a while, I'm going to need some more stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook September 15, 2009

Oh My..these are so good. I could eat them all myself. Well, seems like I practically did. The sweet/tart is so awesome together. My first thought was, wow, these are really sweet, but then, no, some tartness comes thru. I think some added onion slices would be perfect to include also:-) So glad I tagged for Veg-n-Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB September 15, 2009

FANTASTIC flavor here. Perfect amt of sweet and garlic with just a hint of vinegar. I loved the fact that this recipe used Splenda and was oil free. DO cut your cucumbers paper thin. I cut mine thin, but not paper thin and after an overnight marinade they were lifeless and limp. You could totally throw in some red pepper flakes for heat if that suits your fancy. THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride September 15, 2009
Light and Tasty Cucumber Slices