10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Every year, I make my hubs creme brulee for Valentine's Day. Unfortunately, due to doctor's orders, that extra-cholesteroly goodness was out of the question this year. I opted to make this instead and it hit many of the same buttons as creme brulee: sweet, smooth inside with a top that gives a bit of resistance. I made the actual souffle per the recipe, except for using regular cane sugar, and used vanilla extract. I also topped it with homemade lemon curd and a few sliced strawberries. They baked 28 minutes and, once I pulled them from the oven, I let them sit in the water bath for another 10. This recipe was much easier to make than I'd thought souffle would be, and the end result was very tasty. I dropped a star because: 1) I could've at least doubled the vanilla. I couldn't taste it at all. It'd also up the "faux brulee" quotient. 2) I also didn't get any "cheesecake" vibe from this, either in taste or texture, and I got a definite "EGG". I have to wonder how this would work out with whipped, slightly thinned light cream cheese? Cheesecake flavored yogurt? Mmmm... Overall, this is a GREAT recipe that will just require minor tweaking to satisfy my palette. The hubs gave it 5 stars, however.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Lena* February 15, 2010

Great, easy recipe. I used mixed merry yogurt instead of cottage cheese, and added good flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djafishfria March 15, 2009

Super! I used homemade low fat ricotta (pureed to make it smoother), real sugar, pureed and strained fresh strawberries along with the sliced ones, and opted for the almond extract. These looked beautiful, and we all thought the taste and the texture were terrific. Thanks for anothr great recipe, Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate May 01, 2008

Truly outstanding! This was cooked in two 1 cup ramekins. The cottage cheese mixture was prepared in the Vita-Mix and then folded into the egg whites. The souffle rose beautifully and was so delicious. Hard to believe that it is low in fat and low in sugar. Something I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG April 03, 2008

This is OK for two points, but it tasted really eggy to me. I may play around with it - a higher cottage cheese to egg ratio might improve it. It could also taste more cheesecakey w/ some lemon juice. I wish I had followed the other reviewer and reduced the temp a bit. The top was very brown before the bottom was fully cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen November 25, 2007

This was great - made for ZWT3 and enjoyed immensely - I used low fat ricotta and sugar and was heavy handed on the vanilla and cinnamon and the result was very light, sweet and perfectly flavoured - there was very little guilt associated with its consumption - mine rose to the top of the dish and browned beautifully on top - they were a still a bit runny down at the bottom but as light as air for the most part - what a wonderful low fat dessert - thanks toni.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 16, 2007

I made this for ZWT3, and I'm SO glad I did! I guilt free delicious dessert that I can't WAIT to have again! I also made 3 of these lucious airy treats! Mine rose QUICKLY, and was incredibly browned in 18 minutes...so next time I will either bake them on the bottom rack of my oven, lower the temp, or both. They puffed up almost twice the size of the container, but dropped pretty rapidly after taking them out. I will most certainly make this again...and next time I'll make the whole recipe in one big ramekin and eat it all myself!!!!! Thanks Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom June 16, 2007

Yes!! It is Extremely LUSCIOUS!! I had problems with it rising for me, but that is ok, it still tasted very good. Bringing the remainder of our taste test to my diabetic FIL. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PjD#2 June 16, 2007

delicious and fun to make. i doubled the recipe and my mom and i had this for lunch, with a chocolate/cherry sauce (yes, we often have dessert for lunch. Or breakfast. Or dinner. You know). thanks toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vye367 December 20, 2006

This is the third of Toni's recipes that I have made in the last 2 days and they have all been worth it! This was a lovely light dessert. I detest the taste of cottage cheese but buy it for recipes just like this one and it was perfect. I was a little worried that there would be a splenda aftertaste but there was none that I could detect. Used the almond extract which I think was a good choice. Also, my ramekins must be smaller then yours because this made 3 for me. I left out the fruit spread and just put some sliced berries over top. Very nice dessert and quite easy with a really fancy presentation! Thanks Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 01, 2005
Light and Luscious Cheesecake Soufflé