129 Reviews

I think these may be the best pancakes I've ever had. The only difference in mine was the milk.. all I had on hand was whole milk.
Topped with butter and REAL maple syrup, I was in heaven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennanana November 02, 2012

These were excellent pancakes! I made this recipe as written, even to trying some pancakes with what seemed to be thick batter. It worked! Oh, I used homemade sweet potato purée instead of canned pumpkin purée, but close enough. Oh, and I added some maple chips for extra zing, also tasty! I whipped the egg into a froth, then added the other liquids, then added to the flour mixture. We got 14 pancakes from the 1/4-cup scoop, and we've always (ALWAYS!) had leftovers from that size batch before. Not this time! Not only did the kids and I eat up what was on our plates, DH (usually a very light eater) kept going back until there were no more.

I found the ginger and nutmeg flavors to be a bit strong, so next time I'll scale back on those two. Obviously it wasn't enough of a problem to stop anyone from cleaning the plate ... Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope October 16, 2011

I had to add a lot more milk to make it pourable but the taste was fantastic! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bstgirl October 31, 2010

I loved these pancakes before I even tasted them. Instead of measuring out 6 T., I also used 1/3 c. of canned pumpkin and approximately 1/4 to 1/3 c. of additional skim milk. The spicy pumpkin aroma from these pancakes was mouth watering! I had to eat a pancake as I was cooking the rest of the batter. It was that good. Yummalicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Louisville Mimi August 05, 2009

This has become a recipe that I make over and over. I don't add or subtract from the recipe as there is no need for improvements. We love it. My toddler will eat them, I love anything pumpkin, and my husband is happy because pancakes are his favorite. It's a big win!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahLikesToCook March 09, 2016

After reading all of the positive reviews for the recipe, I was excited to finally have found the perfect pumpkin pancake recipe. I followed the directions to the letter, no substitutions. They smelled and looked amazing as they cooked on the griddle. I let them cook on the longer side - until they bubbled and the bubbles popped, the edges were dry, and the cakes were on the deeper side of golden brown. However - we cut into the first one and it looked like raw cake batter inside. I put them all of them in a 350 oven for a good 10 minutes to try and get them cooked through. No dice, they were just as mushy and wet inside as when they came off the griddle. The spice flavor was nice, but the texture was so unappealing as to nearly rend them inedible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heidicooks March 09, 2016

This was great with my first attempt!! Will definitely be keeping and sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Genielle M. March 05, 2016

I love pumpkin but this recipe was awful. It was a waste of my spices as well as my time. I cooked these pancakes New Years' morning 2016 and was very excited about trying them. I ended up having a bowl of Rice Krispies for breakfast instead. I was very disappointed. If you make these, definitely add more sugar, a lot more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
della_r_melton January 01, 2016

This recipe deserves 100 stars. These pancakes are really fluffy and they taste really good. I added chocolate chip in some of them and served with slivered almonds and syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luciana D. December 22, 2015

Makes a delicious and hearty breakfast. It was a huge hit in our house. Tip, I normally make double the recipe to get 10 medium cakes. I used 1 can of organic pumpkin and added a half a cup more of milk. They were perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne V. December 07, 2015
Light and Fluffy Pumpkin Pancakes