14 Reviews

Really wonderful biscuits. This was the first time that I added an egg to my biscuits (and I've made a lot of biscuits in my time) and it does add a more rich taste. I made 12 of these for Easter dinner and the 4 people at the table were 3 short of wiping out the entire dozen. I think that for my own taste I might not add the Splenda next time but my 3 guys thought they were perfect as written. Their opinions, ease of preparation and their lovely outcome are plenty to rate this with the full 5 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 09, 2012

I've been experimenting with biscuit recipes for a while, and could never get them quite right, but THESE are outstanding! They rise nice and high, light and fluffy without being too dense. Perfect texture and taste. A must try!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
6hungryboys July 28, 2011

Not bad. I'd never used a biscuit recipe with eggs. Didn't have butter flavored Crisco so I used half butter/half regular Crisco. Otherwise, followed exactly. Biscuits rose up high. Not really "light and fluffy" but very good with butter and honey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jubie November 17, 2015

Amazing recipe! Rich and fluffy and great with our sausage gravy for dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessie L. August 23, 2015

I didn't need as many as the recipe made so I halved it. Used half shortening and half butter. They turned out wonderfully. They were soft and fluffy. Didn't rise much but enough to make them good. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa C. June 17, 2015

These are awesome! I did change a few things. I don't like shortening, so I used two sticks of butter. I found that this needed more milk, but I do live in Colorado where everything needs more moister. Other than that, this is an awesome biscuit recipe! Ever since we have moved to all organic, the biscuits have been the one thing I have fought to get right...For Flour I used two cups of bread flour, and two cups of pastry flour. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jason S. June 08, 2015

Followed the recipe exactly and found that the 12 teaspoons of baking powder was WAY Too much.. It made the biscuits very salty and they did not taste good at all. we re tried the recipe with only 4 teaspoons of baking powder. The biscuits came out perfect. You can decrease sugar to 1 and a 1/2 teaspoon. Everything else is good just you MUST adjust your baking powder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ana B. June 03, 2015

The temperature listed is 450. This is way too hot for baking biscuits. I followed the recipe exactly (and I have 20+ years of baking experience) and baked them at the temperature listed. The bottoms were far too browned as were the tops by only 13 minutes (less than the minimum called for baking time). I plan to try the recipe again baking it at 350 instead. They did not rise while baking but stayed the same size as when rolled and cut out (3/4" thick). Maybe the temperature on the recipe could be adjusted on the temperature part.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abigail A. May 10, 2015

This is absolutely the BEST biscuits!!! I am a very good cook, but the Biscuits I've made in the past kind of feel like a lump on the way down. Sooooo good. Thanks for this terrific recipie. Do you have a cook book out there?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy N. January 14, 2015
Light and Fluffy Biscuits