Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Light and Easy Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Light and Easy Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2008

      I've been using recipezaar.com for months, but i've never felt like making an account. I personally thought this recipe was so good that I made an account just so I could write a review. Thank You so much for adding such a great recipe! My mother has a silly life's goal of finding the perfect dinner roll recipe, this recipe wasn't exactly what she was looking for but she said it was the closest one she's ever seen (You have no idea how many recipes for rolls she's tried). I've made 3 regular "batches" of this recipe. The first I let rise for 1 hour and then cooked. The result was a bit more dense than I had hoped for. Next One I let it rise for amost 2 hours and it was far lighter. The last time I made it I let it rise for about 2 and 1/2 hours and I had it set on top of the stove while the oven was preheating and the additional heat along with the lengthened time created a nice light roll. The taste of this roll did seem kinda "dry" for me at first. But in an another batch I made, I used a cinnamon butter to brush the tops, and it created a very nice flavor for a diner roll. Also I've added "stuffings" into these rolls before I let them rise and placed then in greased muffin tins. I let them rise for about an hour and a half. I made them with about a table spoon of Velveeta Cheese (Brand of Easy Melting Cheese) and maybe a teaspoon of diced coktail sausages wrapped with about 3 table spoons of dough to form a nice ball. Let rise for an hour and a half. Then baked untill golden brown. Brushed tops with butter. Created a delicious variation of "Pigs in a Blanket" served for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Thank you to the chef who updated the recipe :) When I first found this one there was a slight misunderstanding with both oil and butter mentioned but found it was supposed to be oil only. I was so anxious to make them that I went ahead and I used 1/3 cup butter (in stick form) and melted it down and added it to the recipe instead of 1/3 oil. They came out fabulous and the whole family loved them. Last time I made homemade rolls from another recipe my husband thought they were too "yeasty" tasting but he loved these. I brushed (basting brush) them heavily with melted butter afterwards and they were delicious!! oh... a handy tip that helps... in step 6... if you don't mind pre-heating the oven for an hour... pre-heat the oven and set the 13x9 pan ON top of the oven itself as it pre-heats. The mild heat will help the rolls rise even more. I covered mine with a flour sack cloth (you can buy them at Target on the kitchen towel isle in a bin) and left on top of the stove for an hour and 20 min and then baked for 22 min (electric oven) they were perfect!!! Thank you so much for the yummy recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      These were wonderful. Absolutely wonderful. I took another reviewers advice and let the rolls rise for 2 1/2 hours. These were originally for thanksgiving dinner tomorrow but i'm going to keep them for myself. Making another batch right now. These are definitely light and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      Without out a doubt - light and easy! Made these for our Easter Brunch and and have to be the easiest rolls I've ever made and the end result is nothing short of amazing. Family raved about them and are already asking for a repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I have a bunch of recipes for dinner rolls, and none of them are all that hot- and time-consuming to boot. I have an Easter dinner to contribute to and wanted an EASY dinner roll that doesn't take forever. I haven't tried these yet, but I am about to-may as well, all the reviews are really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I just finished making these rolls for my Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow and they smelled so good, my daughter and I just had to sample one! They are great! Easy to follow recipe, very little work and great finished product! The only change I made was to add some dill and onion powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I made this recipe twice. First time I did not wait a full hour for the dough to rise, and I paid the price. The second time I left them for 1 1/2h on top of the warm oven and they came out perfect. Thanks for sharing! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Awesome rolls! This was my first time ever making rolls, or anything yeast related for that matter! They were great! I made these for thanksgiving dinner and they were a hit! They came out nice and golden brown. I brushed them with some butter mixed with garlic salt and they tasted sooo good. I can only suggest that they needed a little more salt in the dough. Thanks so much for posting such an easy no fuss dinner roll recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Wow, this was the easiest rolls that I have ever made. I made them yesterday afternoon and refrigerated it until this morning, rolled them into balls (24) and placed them in a 9 X 13 inch pan. I let it rise for two hours and it was just beautiful, fluffy and delicious. It will be perfect for our ham dinner tonight. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Nice texture, easy to put together. Delicious taste. Next time I might add a bit more salt. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      these were great i used half the dough for the rolls for dinner with a bowl of soup the other half i made cinnamon rolls for breakfast they were like my moms when we were kids thanks for a great tasting and easy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Made these for thanksgiving dinner, they were a huge hit! Just a tidbit of sugar taste, homemade goodness and omg soooooooooo easy. DEFINITELY A KEEPER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Light and Easy Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.2
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    25%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 106.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites