15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The most consistent source of pearl sugar (pärlsocker) is IKEA's Swede Shop.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carde7 March 18, 2006

The most consistent source of pearl sugar (pärlsocker) is IKEA's Swede Shop...for the swedish pearl sugar used for bread decorating because it dissoved itself when cooked.

The most consistent source of BELGIAN pearl sugar is belgianpearlsugar online because it is the one used for the belgiuan waffles.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChristopheL March 23, 2011

This is an alright waffle recipe, though nowhere near a true liege waffle recipe. I lived in Mons, Belgium as a kid, and liege waffles were my favourite. My very first memory of a flavour and aroma were from the waffles. This recipe has too much yeast, and doesn't achieve the proper depth of flavour (I find honey and vanilla are needed for proper flavour). Also, to get the proper cook on the waffles, you need to have your iron hot (above 425?F), then as soon as you place the batter on the iron you need to lower the heat all the way and cook for only 2-3 minutes, not 3-5. As a breakfast waffle, these are passable, but they're not a true liege waffle.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lonefenrir August 06, 2012

Super delicious, however.....my husband made these this morning and did not have the heart to put all that butter in there. He used half the amount called for and they were still quite wonderful. We also didn't have pearl sugar so he used sugar in the raw. I saved this little gem. It's a great waffle for special occasions as you probably wouldn't want to indulge in this delight every weekend...or maybe you would!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merchris July 23, 2011

The waffles looks delicious, however the pearl sugar is not the right one, it must be made in Belgium . P4 Belgian Pearl Sugar is the one you need to make the Liege Waffles
"Get a Waff" sell the real thing! They even have a online .com store.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine de Liege March 12, 2011

This recipe is amazing. I lived in Europe for almost 5 months and I frequently enjoyed the hunt for the perfect gaufre (or Belgian sugar waffle). We made these waffles last night, topped with a drizzle of Nutella and a scoop of ice cream, and I can honestly say that this recipe is on par with the best waffles that I ate in Europe. Since pearl sugar either terribly inconvenient or unavailable, I used Sugar in the Raw and it worked great! It maintained that lovely crunch of sugar once the waffle is cooked. One word of advice-- eat these waffles as a meal! They are too good to not eat when you are full from dinner! Enjoy!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pbolts01 January 07, 2011

These were ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!!! Having tried QUITE a few waffle recipes, these were by faaaaar the VERY VERY best! Crsipy on the outside, fluffy and chewy on the inside. Sweetness is JUUUUSt right... not overly sweet. I didn't have pearl sugar, so I used crushed up sugar cubes instead. This recipe is DEFINITELY a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetRD February 14, 2010

These waffles were amazing!! When I first started mixing them the dough seemed to be a little think and I was skeptical but I just kept pushing through and they cam out amazing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenninjapan May 11, 2007

This are sooooo good, I just cannot give them enough stars. Don't know how authentic they are - but if not they should be as the taste is just the right balance of a toasty outside with a feather light inside and that wonderful slight crunch of the pearl sugar. Everyone commented on the wonderful breakfast and asked for seconds. I found the pearl sugar at a kitchen speciality store and was so surprised as I'd planned on grinding sugar cubes, but was thrilled to find it. My DGSs even said "Nanna, you don't even need syrup with these. Thinking how good they would be with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. I made exactly as directed (plan ahead for the yeast to rise) it took about an hour to double in my cool kitchen and the kids really got hungry. But I would not change a thing as they are perfect as directed.<br/><br/>ETA: I took a photo but it was so blurry coulnd't use, will have to add that next time I make them.<br/><br/>Finally got around to posting a photo of this great recipe - lot of discussion regarding the pearl sugar but I had no trouble with the one I used, taste was awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 17, 2013

YUM! My DH watched the Bobby Flay show with these and said I had to make them. They are AMAZING. I made them exactly as the recipes states and made 8 in my All-Clad waffle iron. I baked them on setting 3 for 3 minutes. PERFECT! DH said they were awesome. Thank you GoodMorningBurger for an easy and foolproof recipe. Also Chef #264520 thanks for the IKEA info for pearl sugar. Can't wait to make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icre84you May 29, 2010
Liege Waffles (Belgian Pearl Sugar Waffles)