Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Liege Waffles (Belgian Pearl Sugar Waffles) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Liege Waffles (Belgian Pearl Sugar Waffles)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2006

      The most consistent source of pearl sugar (pärlsocker) is IKEA's Swede Shop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      The most consistent source of pearl sugar (pärlsocker) is IKEA's Swede Shop...for the swedish pearl sugar used for bread decorating because it dissoved itself when cooked.

      The most consistent source of BELGIAN pearl sugar is belgianpearlsugar online because it is the one used for the belgiuan waffles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      Super delicious, however.....my husband made these this morning and did not have the heart to put all that butter in there. He used half the amount called for and they were still quite wonderful. We also didn't have pearl sugar so he used sugar in the raw. I saved this little gem. It's a great waffle for special occasions as you probably wouldn't want to indulge in this delight every weekend...or maybe you would!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      The waffles looks delicious, however the pearl sugar is not the right one, it must be made in Belgium . P4 Belgian Pearl Sugar is the one you need to make the Liege Waffles
      "Get a Waff" sell the real thing! They even have a online .com store.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This recipe is amazing. I lived in Europe for almost 5 months and I frequently enjoyed the hunt for the perfect gaufre (or Belgian sugar waffle). We made these waffles last night, topped with a drizzle of Nutella and a scoop of ice cream, and I can honestly say that this recipe is on par with the best waffles that I ate in Europe. Since pearl sugar either terribly inconvenient or unavailable, I used Sugar in the Raw and it worked great! It maintained that lovely crunch of sugar once the waffle is cooked. One word of advice-- eat these waffles as a meal! They are too good to not eat when you are full from dinner! Enjoy!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      These were ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!!! Having tried QUITE a few waffle recipes, these were by faaaaar the VERY VERY best! Crsipy on the outside, fluffy and chewy on the inside. Sweetness is JUUUUSt right... not overly sweet. I didn't have pearl sugar, so I used crushed up sugar cubes instead. This recipe is DEFINITELY a keeper!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      These waffles were amazing!! When I first started mixing them the dough seemed to be a little think and I was skeptical but I just kept pushing through and they cam out amazing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      This are sooooo good, I just cannot give them enough stars. Don't know how authentic they are - but if not they should be as the taste is just the right balance of a toasty outside with a feather light inside and that wonderful slight crunch of the pearl sugar. Everyone commented on the wonderful breakfast and asked for seconds. I found the pearl sugar at a kitchen speciality store and was so surprised as I'd planned on grinding sugar cubes, but was thrilled to find it. My DGSs even said "Nanna, you don't even need syrup with these. Thinking how good they would be with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. I made exactly as directed (plan ahead for the yeast to rise) it took about an hour to double in my cool kitchen and the kids really got hungry. But I would not change a thing as they are perfect as directed.<br/><br/>ETA: I took a photo but it was so blurry coulnd't use, will have to add that next time I make them.<br/><br/>Finally got around to posting a photo of this great recipe - lot of discussion regarding the pearl sugar but I had no trouble with the one I used, taste was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      This is an alright waffle recipe, though nowhere near a true liege waffle recipe. I lived in Mons, Belgium as a kid, and liege waffles were my favourite. My very first memory of a flavour and aroma were from the waffles. This recipe has too much yeast, and doesn't achieve the proper depth of flavour (I find honey and vanilla are needed for proper flavour). Also, to get the proper cook on the waffles, you need to have your iron hot (above 425?F), then as soon as you place the batter on the iron you need to lower the heat all the way and cook for only 2-3 minutes, not 3-5. As a breakfast waffle, these are passable, but they're not a true liege waffle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      YUM! My DH watched the Bobby Flay show with these and said I had to make them. They are AMAZING. I made them exactly as the recipes states and made 8 in my All-Clad waffle iron. I baked them on setting 3 for 3 minutes. PERFECT! DH said they were awesome. Thank you GoodMorningBurger for an easy and foolproof recipe. Also Chef #264520 thanks for the IKEA info for pearl sugar. Can't wait to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!!!! Thanks for shearing!!! Everyone, try these!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Nope, this is not quite right. Getting close, but not quite right. ~~~~~~~ Also, FYI, don't try this recipe with goat butter!...the lower melting point changes it quite a bit and they burn more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! I have made this recipe many times and the whole family loves them. Serve them with fresh fruit for brunch or dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This is a yummy and easy recipe, but if you are looking for an authentic Liege Waffle recipe, then this isn't it. Even though it wasn't exactly what I was looking for, I still recommend that you give it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      These waffles are good. They come nice and crunchy. Be careful when you take them out of the waffle maker ---the butter in them oozes and it is very hot. I made these for breakfast but I think they are made more for dessert or a treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Liege Waffles (Belgian Pearl Sugar Waffles)

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 904.4
     
    Calories from Fat 452
    50%
    Total Fat 50.3 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 30.4 g
    152%
    Cholesterol 261.5 mg
    87%
    Sodium 534.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 103.3 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 54.9 g
    219%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes