Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Libby's Famous Pumpkin Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Libby's Famous Pumpkin Pie

    Average Rating:

    229 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 229

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2009

      This is the BEST pumpkin pie! I always make 2, but I just tweak it a little bit: For two, non deep-dish 9" pies, I double the recipe. For the cinnamon, ginger, and cloves, I substitute an equal amount of pumpkin pie spice. The last change I make is to use one 12 oz. can of evaporated milk and one 14 oz. can of Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk, instead of two cans of evaporated in the doubled recipe. The crust I use is homemade, and it makes 2 9" pie crusts (Someone's Pastry for a Double-Crust Pie (Or Two Pie Crusts)). I always make them the day before, I don't bother blind baking the crusts (though it probably wouldn't hurt), and I bake them on 375 degrees F the entire time for about 35-40 minutes (or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean). I have found that if the temp. is 425 to start, the crusts brown too quickly (for us). This is the only recipe we enjoy around the holidays. Thanks for posting it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      I have been making this pie for over 40 years. It can't be beat. Others just don't taste right. The only changes I make are sometimes I use half brown sugar, and I always add a teaspoon of vanilla. Baking the pie in a glass or stoneware pie pan helps keep your crust from being soggy on the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This turned out well, and the hostess even asked if she could keep the leftover pie for another party later on in the week! I used 15 ou. of homemade p. puree and followed others' suggestions to slightly incr. the spices, and use brown sugar (1/2 c. brown + 1/4 c. white). I also added 1/4 t. ground ginger, 1/4 t. nutmeg, and a splash of vanilla extract. Definitely the Platonic Pumpkin Pie! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      There is NO substitute for Libby's blend of spices! I've seen beautiful pumpkin pies that were all show and no flavor.... stick with this recipe and your pumpkin pie will always live up to and/or exceed expectations!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      This recipe is by far the best recipe for pumpkin pie I have found. When I look back at cookbooks I inherited from my Mother and Grandmother, the pumpkin pie recipe was always the same "Follow the recipe on the back of the Libby's Pumpkin Puree Can". I think out of all the recipes I have seen this one is a "National Treasure".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Can't get canned pumpkin puree here in Australia (that I can find), so I made my own from fresh pumpkin, and used two sweet flan pastries instead of the one deep dish pie pastry (couldn't find that in my supermarket either), but it turned out great still! Great recipe, thanks katiemom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I make a ton of these pies every year I also use pie crust Classic Pie Crust, Idiot Proof Step-By-Step Photo Tutorial. I always add one grate or a pinch of nutmeg as well. Also just a lil more sugar (abt 3 tbsp) and it gives the pies a wonderful taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I'm a young chef, but I've been cooking since I was tall enough to flip the grilled cheese. This recipe really can't be beat, except literally. No seriously, Whip the mixture for a few minutes, (It's easier with the whip attachment on a standing mixer.) until it gets a little lighter in color, before you pore it into the pie crust. This is a family secret passed down to my sister and I, now that we've taken over the generational cooking. You'll have the creamiest pumpkin pie ever! Guaranteed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      It's a classic! I add 1 1/2 capfulls of vanilla extract, & substitute 1/4 cup of the white sugar with dark brown sugar. Most importantly in my book, is that I do not use the whole can of evaporated milk - I use about 80% or 10 ounces instead of 12. This keeps the crust & the center from being too wet. The pie baked up beautifully & firm - consistent baking throughout the pie. Also, I use the spice mixture, not the premade pumpkin pie spice. Next time though, I think I will add a bit of nutmeg to the spices. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      **SPLENDA** Used 1 cup Splenda (v. 3/4 c. sugar) to lighten the load for diabetics in the family. Everyone loved the pie and no one noticed it was 'altered' in any way. I plan on making the substitution permanent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      The best recipe ever . . . have used it forever. My mom gave me one TIP that makes it even better! USE LAST YEAR'S CANNED PUMPKIN. For some reason, the aged flavor of year-old pumpkin is the secret to an amazing pie. If anyone has made a pie from fresh pumpkin, they already know it's not as good as canned. So aged canned turns out even better. So, stock up on canned pumpkin now for next year's pies! Yumm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This has definitely been my staple pumpkin pie recipe; I love it! The spices aren't overpowering, it's got a really nice balance of flavours: a bit creamy yet light and still full of flavour. I've made it with a no-roll pie crust (51537) and it works wonderfully. Everyone loves this pie.. it never lasts long in this house! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This pie was really good! Everyone at our Thanksgiving loved it!! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Yup, it was yumminess.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      This pie was fantastic! Everyone who has tasted this pie really liked it. I used a pre-made graham cracker crust and pumpkin pie spice because I was short on time. It was still great! Will be making this again soon. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      1st Pumpkin Pie ever made & thanks to you it was perfect! Super easy to make and very yummy! I did add some vanilla & i actually didn't add cloves... It still came out great. =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      I think there's a reason the recipe on the back of the can hasn't changed after all these years. :) Although, one tip an older lady gave me a while back was this: use brown sugar instead of granulated in your pumpkin pies. It gives a certain depth and richness that white sugar can't. No matter how this is made, it always turns out wonderfully!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      My first attempt at a pie, and it was really good! I made my own crust, and used fresh pumpkin. I also didn't have evaporated milk, so I substituted milk which I thickened a little on the stovetop. It turned out a little too gooey, but the fridge took care of that. I also cut down the sugar. Served it with cream cheese. Rave results, and I can't wait to try again with the PROPER milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      This is a tried and true recipe. I've been using it for years and I've NEVER heard a complaint. This is the pie everyone heads for on cool winter evenings. I always add a pinch more spices for a flavor kick. You don't even have to use LIBBY'S products, I stick with generic and it STILL comes out fabulous. Happy Baking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Libby's Famous Pumpkin Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.9
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    38%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 58.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 326.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 19.5 g
    78%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites