Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lex's Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lex's Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2014

      What a wonderful recipe WiGal, we enjoyed it very much. Perfectly cooked chicken, that was crispy, moist and tender, with a very flavorful, citrusy tasting stuffing. I baked the chicken for 75 minutes and did use the red pepper flakes, we enjoyed the subtle heat it brought to the dish. A wonderful meal served with mashed potatoes and baby carrots & sweet peas. Thank you so much for sharing a recipe that my family will enjoy again and again. Made for Holiday Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      Great roasted chicken recipe with a wonderful "stuffing-like" bonus. The bread/celery/onion mixture was so yummy. You just have to watch your cooking time to make sure you don't start to blacken the bread. The chicken flavor was outstanding. I cooked mine for about and hour and 15 minutes. The only change I will make next time is to omit the red pepper flakes. I do like spice in recipes, but this recipe seems more like pure comfort food. Thank you for posting! Made for Please Review my Recipe in the Cooking Tag Games forums.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      What a great recipe!!! I made this for dinner last night and served it with mashed potatoes/gravy and corn, the whole family loved it. I used 4 small chicken thighs with skin and one large b/s chicken breast for DS. I made 1/2 of the recipe and left out the crushed red peppers (personal preference for this type of dish) and then followed as written. I also roasted 2 chicken breasts in a separate pan for Cooked Chicken for Recipes - Barefoot Contessa Style and used the dripping to make the gravy for Lex's chicken. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe/change to the normal roasted chicken and dressing. Made for PRMR Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Yes it is a WOW! Actually when it comes to a roasted chicken recipe it is a double wow at our house. Had some lovely crisp pieces tucked away before serving - good thing as dh and the teenager shared right to the last of the 'dressing' and were looking for more. This was a new to me kind of recipe that had me saying - now why didn't I think of that! Made as posted and it's great - needs no changes. Thank you WiGal we love that chicken of yours!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This was pretty easy to prepare -- hardest part being the chopping of the onions and celery (which I made my husband do ;)) I LOVED this...my husband just liked it. He said 4 stars, I say 5. Guess what? I trump him haha. It was very flavorful, I really liked the "stuffing" part on the bottom. The chicken skin was nice and crisp and tasty too. Thank you SO much for posting :) Made for Theirs, Yours, & Mine Photo Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This chicken was amazing. I prepared it for my family and my parents. We loved all the flavors it had from the onion, celery and all the wonderful spices. I cooked mine as a whole chicken on top of the bread and veggies. I also added some small diced potatoes and carrots into the mix. Thanks so much for sharing. Prepared for PRMR tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This is a great recipe with tons of flavor. The stuffing was very flavorful and moist, but I would add more of the seasonings to the chicken rub next time - maybe use some of the thyme and lemon zest with the salt and pepper to rub into the oiled chicken, and omit pouring the lemon juice over top. (There is no amount listed for lemon juice, so I used the juice from the lemon that I zested...) I LOVE making the chicken this way, and will continue to tweak it for my family's preferences - maybe include some carrots with the stuffing, etc. Thanks for a great idea, we'll make this again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      WOW!!! What a delicious way to roast a chicken. The flavors from the onion mixture got into the chicken and in turn, the chicken drippings were soaked up by the bread slices which were decadently rich! Made for Spring 2008 PAC.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lex's Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (542 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 995.3
     
    Calories from Fat 428
    43%
    Total Fat 47.6 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 160.4 mg
    53%
    Sodium 1725.9 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 54.6 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites