12 Reviews

Mirj, kisses to Levana for such a great recipe! The orange flavor coupled with the poppy seeds gave this cake its great flavor. On a personal note: Mirj, everytime I "zest" I think of you!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC January 22, 2003

Absolutely lovely cake -- moist and wonderful -- rave reviews.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane W. February 11, 2003

The directions are easy to follow.The cake is very moist and has great crunch from all the poppy seeds. You should not leave out the syrup - makes the cake moist, tasty and gives it a nice shiny glaze. However even with the syrup, I found the orange flavor too mild so I might double the amount of zest next time and reduce the poppy seeds to 1/2 cup. Thank you for a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yclai June 26, 2006

This cake was worth the effort. It is moist, and flavorful. The presentation is wonderful on any table..golden and glazed with a fragrant, fruity aroma. Julie Russo recommends zesting fruit over the bowl in which the batter will be mixed, so that the oil of the fruit will be captured in the batter. This tip really adds flavor, and fragrance.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoonCookie October 13, 2003

Just made this yesterday. An absolute hit! It made an enormous cake but it's nearly all gone! I tried it out on the family as I have to make a birthday cake for someone at work next week. I added a bit extra orange rind and it had a fabulous tangy flavour. The glaze is delicious. I should have put a plate under the cake when glazing it as I lost half the glaze on the bench but it was still moist and yummy. I might make a cream cheese frosting for the birthday cake for appearances sake, but it doesn't really need it for flavour. Definitely keeping this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally in Sydney August 22, 2009

Orange poppy seed cake is one of my favourite cakes so I couldn't resist making this one when I saw it. I like a really orange flavour and the syrup really helps in adding to this. I also added an extra tablespoon of zest (three in total) but I think next time I make it I'll even add four tablespoons and see how that goes. I also only added 1/2 cup of poppy seeds. Besides all of these changes I still give this recipe 5 stars because it's so easy to follow and it looks beautiful with the glaze! Thanks so much for posting Mirj!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sazza July 10, 2006

This recipe was fantastic! For more just like it, I recommend visiting http://www.levanakirschenbaum.com - She gives the best Kosher Cooking classes in town.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaos March 29, 2004

This is just too wonderful for words. We can't get poppy seed, not to mention poppy seed cake where I am from. But Luby was such a wonderful wonderful soul, she sent me some (RAK), and I got the opportunity to try this cake. It was worth using half my stash on this wonderful wonderful cake!! Everyone at home loved it. I followed the recipe to the T except, i read the recipe wrongly and added a whole cup of orange juice in instead, it was FINE. The cake was not the least bit ruined. Still mouth watering. Guys, do try this cake, and you MUST make that sauce!! It was just so delish!! Goes really well. I added some more on the top of the cake after it had cooled, so it gave it a nice glossy glaze as well...oh man...great flavours!! Mirj thank you for this great recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac August 23, 2003

I've never tried Orange Poppy Seed cake before but my son's GF loves it, so I was looking for a recipe I could try for her. I made this last night and I love the poppy seed texture and the orange flavour. Mine came out a little drier than I would have liked, that could be because I ran out of all purpose flour and had to add 1/2 wholemeal flour and 1/2 cup semolina. Still tasted pretty good, thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
97grad September 03, 2009

tried it first time- turned out greatttttt!!!! pete

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bydalake April 05, 2008
Levana's Orange Poppy Seed Cake