12 Reviews

This has become a weekly favorite so I figured it should get the 5 stars it deserves! Of course, it can be modified according to what you have on hand. Sometimes I use fresh bean sprouts instead of cabbage or no cabbage at all. I cut the crushed red pepper to 1 tsp. for 1 1/2 lb ground beef and use 1/2 tsp dry ground ginger. We prefer romaine lettuce 'boats'. Thank you for a marvelous recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen L. May 27, 2015

A simple, healthy, scrumptious lunch that looked somewhat like an exotic flower when the butter lettuce is rolled at a slight slant. I did cut the crushed red pepper flakes just a bit as DH does not like too much heat. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl April 19, 2014

Nice flavor!!! I only had romaine lettuce and that does not wrap well at all. Definitely use iceberg or a nice butter lettuce. Next time I make it, I will chop the cabbage much finer. I was out of fresh ginger and used ginger powder. The flavor was imparted nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim March 13, 2012

DELICIOUS! I made these using ground turkey and like Rita I made a slurry with some cornstarch and water. I did add some diced carrots and red pepper for a little more vegies. Will make these again. Made for March's Tag Game ~LaLechuga~ Lettuce and Diabetic Forum for March 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 12, 2012

Messy Fun Goodness!
Used ground turkey, sauteed it in sesame oil. Added diced carrots and red bell pepper.
I did add a slurry of water and cornstarch just so the mixture would stay together better in the lettuce wrap. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 07, 2012

WOW! So simple so good! Didn't change a thing! Well Done!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanator or Chefanator March 24, 2011

This is an excellent recipe. Super easy and since the ingredients are simple you can easily mix and match any veggies you want to put in it. I use a sweetened soy sauce and then I don't have to add the sugar. I am absolutely addicted to these now :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharon.drake March 07, 2011

I served these as low-carb alternative appy's for SuperBowl Sunday -- a gigantic hit! The flavor's outside the box! Thanks, Andi! Made for Photo Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 07, 2010

Yummmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
g_01085 July 15, 2015

I've been making these for a while now...just noticed I never reviewed them...I normally use regular green cabbage but this time I used napa...that's what I had on hand...I serve these in baby romaine lettuce that I get at Costco...they make little boats...hubby loves these too! Thanks for posting it...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas February 09, 2014
Lettuce Wraps