11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These really do melt in your mouth. I halved the recipe with no problems. For something a little bit different, I used some homemade lime jelly. They turned out really well, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliJ April 28, 2009

I made these for christmas last year and my husband just requested them again. They are very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aslan December 09, 2008

Delicious! DH is a huge fan of shortbreads and these are deceivingly light despite the fat from the butter and the nuts. Mine didn't come out as beautiful as Deb's photo but I had just a little extra ground nuts and I went ahead and used them... the higher fat content from the nuts may be the reason why they spread out a little. We made a half-batch and that's plenty. This will be a fun recipe to play with different jams and nuts. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaJuneBug November 02, 2008

You are my first review! I loved the way they melted in my mouth! I used pecans since i didn't have any almonds. I have never, ever seen a recipe with 1 cup of constarch so i was a little dubious, but they turned out great. I used black raspberry preserves. Definite keeper. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junkintrunk December 20, 2006

Oh my goodness!! These are so good!! They just melt in your mouth. Light and airy, not too sweet even with the powdered sugar on top and the red raspberry preserves! I followed the recipe exactly. I made small approx 1" balls and got about 40 cookies. My husband says these are the best cookies I've ever made. I will be taking them to my cookie exchange this year - I'm sure they will be a hit!! Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbohman13 December 07, 2006

These are all right, maybe a little dry for my tastes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn Driscoll December 07, 2006

Enjoyed these cookies! My mom used to make these for me when I was young. The only thing I didn't like is I found they were a bit too dry when I was trying to form them into balls so I added a bit extra butter. Also, I didn't have quite enough Almonds so I added in some peanuts as well and you couldn't even tell. Good cookies for Christmas!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihchicky December 06, 2006

When I looked at this recipe again after making this 4 times, I cannot believe that I did not rate this awesome delicious shortbread cookie. Oh my goodness Deb this is my very favorite cookie. I made Rhubarb Jam Trail Mix Cookie Mix using raspberry jello. It was the best of two worlds coming together. I did use pecans once and were just as good as the almonds. I gave some to my friends and co-workers and for card club. They were gobbled up in no time. Thank you for this delicious cookie recipe from Pat Merwin

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmrealty November 27, 2006

NO need to bite or barely even chew these metl in your mouth wonders! Perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sho enough July 10, 2006

I can't believe I made a cookie THIS good! What a fantastic recipe. I was unsure of cornstarch too at first, but after reading the reviews, couldn't wait to try it. I used hazelnuts. I'm going to fill them with a little orange marmalade and see how they taste. I'm KEEPING this. And when anyone asks my secret, I'll just tell them .."love" Tee hee hee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leighmcl July 20, 2013
Les Madeleines Thumbprint Cookies