Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lentils, garlic and tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentils, garlic and tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2011

      My first foray into the world of lentils. I was slightly disappointed with this recipe. It turned out very bland. Next time I will add a lot more garlic and some seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Great recipe! I made this as stated except used canned tomatoes - I felt they did the peeling and cutting work for me! I did not have a lemon handy at the end so I used one teaspoon of cider vinegar instead. These came out perfect and were delicious. I used brown lentils in my version. Thanks for posting, Dib's. This is so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      I love this and so does my 10 month old. I've made it several times now and it's easy enough for me to put together even on the days when she's fussy and only wants to be carried around. I do have to cook mine a lot longer and with a lot more water for some reason but it comes out delicious! Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      I loved this simple recipe and so does my 16 month old son! I added 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1/2 teaspoon dried basil. Thank you for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      I had never had lentils before but was searching for high fiber recipes to help my hubby's health. This was much better than I expected!0 (I did add one teaspoon of dried basil.) My fear of dried beans is lessened by the easy, quick keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      This is a great side dish if you're trying to be healthy!! It was a little bland so I added 1 small onion, 2 tbsp herbs de Provence, and some fresh cracked black pepper. This dish is very versatile. You can change the spices up any way you want and it comes out great every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      This was very easy to make. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes, and added some fresh ground pepper and coriander, along with other spices (mostly italian seasoning) added when I reheat (making food for just myself, I tend to eat a lot of leftovers). I have also added some grated Romano when reheating. I have tried this just by itself as a main dish, as well as over buttered toast. Before I finish this up, I plan on trying it over a baked potato as well. Thanks for the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      One of the few recipes I make all the time. So easy and so few ingredients. The only changes I make is to cut the olive oil in half when cooking the garlic and then drizzle a really high quality olive oil into the bowl just before serving. I've also put a few dollops of Amy's Chunky Tomato Bisque in the center of the bowl before serving and it looks beautiful and tastes great. Guests were very impressed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Super easy, super yummy. This was a hit for "meatless Monday".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This was fantastic! I've had lentils before, but have never cooked them myself. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used 3/4 of a can of diced tomatoes with juice (left over from another recipe). I followed Chef Gail11's suggestion and used basil, cumin and crushed pepper. When I needed more liquid, I poured in a couple ounces of the beer I was drinking! Teenagers I nearly forgot were mine found their way into the kitchen to see what smelled so wonderful. I served this over bow tie pasta. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks, DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Loved these. I am loving lentils, I just started eating them a couple of months ago. These smelled so good when they were cooking. A great side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      the lentils cooked well, but the recipe (in my opinion) seriously lacked flavor...I made lots extra, so I've been able to experiment with adding more flavor: melting garlic jack cheese, feta cheese, more garlic, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      This was really tasty and easy to make. I felt it was a little bland though, so I added more lemon juice some fresh corriander and crushed black pepper and enjoyed it with wholemeal pita bread, salad and humous. Maybe the blandness came from my tomatoes though, they seemed a little watery. I'll definitely try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2004

      I really enjoyed this. Thought I blew it when I found I had accidently forgot to drain the lentils after washing. They had plumped up quite a bit, so I only had to add 2 cups of water. Still turned out deeeelicious!! Thanks DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      I just enjoyed this recipe for the second time, it is so good because of the simplicity of the ingredients. It was easy to make as well. Dropping the tomatoes in boiling water for a minute or two will slide the skins of easily. I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentils, garlic and tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.3
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    20%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 587.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites