36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of my favorite, easy, healthy recipies! When we have been eating out too much, I make these as a main dish, as a break from all the junk. I make a easy variation on this. When I make these, I use a 14.5 oz can of tomatoes. So far, I have used flavored tomatoes, the garlic oregano basil, diced with garlic of the sweet onion and garlic. I do not drain the tomatoes, but I only put 1 teaspoon of olive oil in for flavoring. For the garlic, I have sometimes substituted those frozen Trader Joes Garlic cubes, and I omit the lemon juice and salt as I have used flavored tomatoes. Sometimes I add various italian spices and/or red pepper flakes to chage the flavor. This recipie gave me the basic water/tomato/lentil ratio. Thanks for posting this recipie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Cheff August 11, 2008

very good. but to bland for me so second time i added diced red pepper and red onion at time of the tomatos. and some fennel seed with the water and lentils.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smokeski August 31, 2006

This recipe has wonderful flavor that is very unique for lentils. I have made several times and my lentils are always a bit dry but the flavor is so good that I keep going back. It could just be me, maybe I will add a little extra water next time. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blisstir February 10, 2004

This is the first recipe I have tried from recipezaar.It is excellent.It is simple to make with a wonderful flavour. I was out of olive oil, so I used some oil I had with chilli peppers in it. I also used canned tomatoes. It was yummy! Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blondie in B.C. October 27, 2003

Very good! I made this for a finicky eater, who ate every bite!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hello all July 19, 2014

Fantastic! I added spinach at the end of the cooking time and it was just that much better. When I first told hubby what I was making he was all hum-ho. After he finished eating though, he informed me that I'll be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 August 05, 2013

What a great base for a wonderful lentil recipe! I made some modifications - no lemon juice, used canned diced tomatoes and added beef base to the water. I also used curry and dill to spice it up a little. Served it over brown rice for a healthy, delicious vegetarian meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
easy_and_delicious April 13, 2013

I used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes and added onions since some reviews said this was a little bland. It ended up being pretty good all by itself, slightly bland still, but I tried a few things to spice it up. I added some hot sauce, corn, and fresh cilantro (at the end) and it was excellent on tortilla chips as something of a salsa. I thought it might also be good to go a different route with oregano and some parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. Either way, this is a good base recipe to play with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
googe1812 April 12, 2013

I have never made lentils before but surprisingly, we loved them (including my teenage sons). This recipe was awesome, I did follow the advice of some others. I added 1/2 teaspoon basil, 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1/2 teaspoon crushed pepper. I also used canned tomatoes, I drained them into a measuring cup then added water to that for the liquid. I found it to be very flavorful and filling. My lentils were very firm though, is that normal? They still tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmyers712 September 25, 2012

I made this for a potluck and everybody in my hiking group really liked it. I liked how easy the ingredients were...I had everything in my pantry and didn't have to make a special trip to the store for this recipe. We had bought heirloom tomatoes at the Farmer's Market and I used fresh lemon juice from my own tree. When I adjusted the temperature of the stove burner down, it accidentally turned off without me realizing it so that meant I had to add an extra 10-15 minutes since it hadn't been on simmer the full time. I just kept checking periodically until the water had fully evaporated. (Otherwise, I suspect that the 30 minute timeframe would have been just about right.) I think the green lentils may have been a bit softer because of this, but I thought it was really delicious. In fact, it tasted even better than I expected. When everybody raved, I tried a bite and my reaction was, "Wow, this is really good!"

I will definitely make this again for myself or a future event!

P.S. If you find it is cooking too fast, make sure you've turned your heat down to the lowest possible setting while you simmer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Atkins June 26, 2012
Lentils, garlic and tomatoes